THE INTROSPECTION CHRONICLES 10| DRIFTING ASHES

in #poetry5 years ago

I am writing in the dark,
my lips reciting every word,
guiding my hands to each key
as each sound dissolves into me.
A water tank weeps to the earth.
A generating set throbs with need
and someone is drunk again,
banging at the gate with bloody fists.

I am writing in the light,
a used smile strutting every word.
It is fragile this smile of mine -
touch it and it cracks like porcelain.
A baby is crying somewhere
and a mother's soft tones hush hush.
Sing a lullaby with those fireflies flitting by.
I have unused baby things somewhere.

The candle flame flickers with the wind
and an entranced moth sizzles to dust.
I have lost my wings now - watch me crawl.
I am writing in the shadows about fading echoes.
Someone yells and a frog croaks.
He asks if I am fine. I feel sorry...
The cigarette has burnt to the stub -
my offerings are finished. I say yes, I am.

The shadows contort shapes in the night.
The flame dims, he drops his pipe and snores.
I am empty... I cover him with a blanket and gather
our ashes from the rug. This is what we are now -
ashes and dust on the window sill.
Something crashes to the floor next door.
He growls, she whimpers. This is love?
A car backfires or is it a gunshot? who cares?

The ashes trail the wind with my words.
I have whispered prayers into the night,
called his name, called mine, called hers -
the little box buried with my sleep.
We are words - now on my lips, soon on his.
We are characters - slow fade out.
I have baby things in here somewhere, new things.
The flame blazes and dies. In the silent counterpoint
of his soft snore and my silent tears, I slip away.


tealight2692556_960_720.jpg
Pixabay: Pixel2013


warpedpoetic, 2019.

Sort:  

This is stunning. Such a collection of extraordinary and poignant images - human detritus of dust, sounds, longings. Beautiful, as ever. You inspire me to write more poetry - you clearly draw a lot of pleasure from the craft of writing.

Hey @riverflows thanks for stopping by and for your kind words. I am glad i inspire you and i hope you do write more poetry because you write good verses. I do get pleasure from finishing a piece that makes sense. It is one of the few pleasures of my life, i think.

Thanks! Poetry and writing sooth me, too. I always wonder what happens to our brains as kids that make us find comfort in putting sentences together!

For me it was and still is loneliness and being shy around people. There is also my love for words, written words. I have been reading since i can remember. Then there's the truth that i am more articulate when i write than when i speak. Maybe because i write more than i speak the English language, i guess. lol

Honestly? This EXACTLY how I feel. I fumble when I speak, grew up on a diet of literature, and am introspective and introverted. Mostly.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes those are the words; introspective and introverted. That is what i am

Hi @warpedpoetic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.136 which ranks you at #3371 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 184 places in the last three days (old rank 3555).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 161 contributions, your post is ranked at #121.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I love this glimpse you have created into this world you write about. You really have managed to paint a whole picture of what surrounds you and also to describe your love for writing at any time come the light or dark. You have such a beautiful way with words xxx

Thank you @trucklife-family. I do love to write. At least it is something i do well, i believe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01