Using God to plead.

in #poetry4 years ago

I will use God to beg you
For she knows what it is to err.
Like a curse, hot from bowels,
She spewed us out of Eden,
To break back beneath the sun,
To pay for food & shelter & sex.
You will forgive for you know
What it is to be divine,
To hunger for wings so strong,
You built planes & parachutes
To never stop flying, to never fall.
To be so full of sin is to know
All the name for God & mother.
To be a god is to break something
Into the image of another.
I will not beg with my name,
Lest I swear on your flowers
To wilt, your universe to darken
For even gods fear to die.
In the pantheon of things, you
Are the first, the It, the
Alpha & judgment, the maker
Of gods of small wonders;
Phones, laptops & greed, twitter
& the commodity that is human.
You broke my altar, stone
& rivet, bolts & manacles,
& I, bloodthirsty like any other
God born of man, must forgive
For gods know what it is
To be human, to be tender, to be lost
& I must send my children
To carry their crosses, to die.


sorrow699606_1280.jpg

📷: pixabay

©Osahon, 2020.

Sort:  

DM me your steem links

I am always blown away by your poems, and this one might be the most powerful I've read of yours yet.
I'm left with a feeling of humans as gods, and gods as humans, the line is blurred. Even though the language you chose is very strongly "negative" (sin, bloodthirsty, die, wilt , darken, manacles...) , the overall effect (for me) is one of balance. Divinity is not a state of grace, but rather a state of flux among what both gods and humans judge to be good, bad, or something in between. To beg is to state your name. Excellent work.

I wrote a poem which I'm polishing and trying to submit to them literary journals. In a line, I write; with things, all gods are possible. You are correct in the blurring between human and god. We create, we destroy. Thanks for your kind words and love. Always

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63212.56
ETH 3233.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88