WHAT IS YOUR PAIN, I ASKED: A POEM

in #poetry5 years ago

despair-513529_1280.jpg
pixabay: Geralt


You are drunk or what
I asked a man
Who spoke of pain
Like a lover and a friend.
He wobbled and wavered
As if the pain surged
Beneath his bones
But I called him drunk
Because his words slurred
And his sweat stank
Of sweet, sweet liquor.

He spoke of yesterday
As if today was done
And spoke of tomorrow
As if yesterday never was
And I mocked his words
because he was drunk.
What is your pain, I asked
And he turned at me
And muttered slurred truths
But I was deaf to him.

You are drunk, go home
I said to the man
Mumbling and weeping
On the edge of the bridge.
So when he threatened to jump
Because he hurt, I mocked
His words and told him
To go home to his wife.
He cried some more
Then he jumped, drunk
And filled with pain.

I am drunk, filled with liquor
And pain beneath my bones.
I understand, I don't,
What it means to be drunk,
To be crying, hurting,
Dreaming that yesterday
Was today and I still have time
To make tomorrow better.
I wish I had listened.
I wish I knew that man's pain.
Maybe I won't hurt this much.
Maybe I won't get drunk, stumble
And fall and make you think
I am a drunk.
No my friend, I am in pain.
What is your pain?


This verse was created around the words "What's your Pain" which I saw on a dear friend's whatsapp status.

©warpedpoetic, 2018.

Sort:  

Oh I love this! I feel it, so accurate...

Indeed we sometimes mistake people's behaviour for irresponsibility meanwhile it is just them dealing with pain and when they try to tell us, we sometimes don't take them seriously.

Thank you @arbitrarykitten for stopping by. I appreciate.

Hi @warpedpoetic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.933 which ranks you at #3987 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 39 places in the last three days (old rank 4026).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 346 contributions, your post is ranked at #110.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95