prophet

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

in another life
or in this one perhaps
one day
I become a prophet
I sell everything
and go almost empty handed
to Iran

I have a sign that says
"I am from Maine in the United States.
I'm sorry for the harm my country has caused you."
and I walk around with my sign
and nobody kills me
and some feed me and take me in

give me shelter

I never talk
my only message is the sign I carry
"I am from Maine in the United States
I'm sorry for the harm my country has caused you."

I understand very little of what is said to me
but the gestures and eyes speak to me
every moment and every person

I learn that many people are watching
then
one day
when I see someone holding up their seeing hand

I stop

I say
"The problem is money. It's an experiment that's failed."
then I turn around
and face another person’s watching hand
and say
“We the people of the world must control
redundant mediums of communication
that allow each of us to communicate to anyone else or to any group of us
anywhere in the world.

When we do that
value and trust
secured by incorruptible code
will belong to us all
and our tribes will go to the stars
and be striped across countless
dimensions.

Wherever we are
our goal will be that we are all family
all are loved and all are provided for.

We will spend our lives being useful
helping everyone survive
taking care of one another
learning as much as we can
laughing
dancing
loving
playing
and having fun.”

after I say that
people will come and put me in a car
I will say to them
“Do not take me away from these people. Whatever happens
I want their fate to be my fate. I owe that to them.” and
“War is embarrassingly stupid.
The people of the world want peace.”

and someone’s seeing hand
will record it

a prophet

and they will take me to a nice room
and feed me

simple as that

.

.

.
for Luke
.

.

.
June 26 Thomaston Maine
.

.

© 2018 William C. Eberle

Sort:  

Thank you, Uncle Bill.

It's beautiful.

My favorite part:

“War is embarrassingly stupid.
The people of the world want peace.”

saved for the last thing the prophet says

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69995.16
ETH 3735.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74