One Spanish Poem a Day (Spanish/English) 14 - Si tú me dices ven - If you tell me to come - Amado Ruíz de Nervo

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

A series of daily posts with a Spanish poem in its original language and translated into English.

The objective of this initiative is to foster the growth of the Spanish speaking community in Steemit and bring high quality Spanish to Steemers all over the world.

One Spanish poem a day - Un poema al día en Español


Anteriores: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13


Amado Ruíz de Nervo


1870, Tepic, Mexico - 1919, Montevideo, Uruguay


Si tú me dices ven

Si tú me dices ven, lo dejo todo…
No volveré siquiera la mirada
para mirar a la mujer amada…
Pero dímelo fuerte, de tal modo
que tu voz como toque de llamada,
vibre hasta el más íntimo recodo del ser,
levante el alma de su lodo
y hiera el corazón como una espada.
Si tú me dices ven, todo lo dejo…
Llegaré a tu santuario casi viejo,
y al fulgor de la luz crepuscular,
más he de compensarte mi retardo,
difundiéndome ¡Oh, Cristo! como un nardo
de perfume sutil, ante tu altar.


If you tell me to come

If you tell me to come, I'll leave everything...
And not even look back at my beloved.
But say it brusquely, so that like reveille,
Your voice will pierce my soul's most intimate redoubt,
Raise it from the mud, and wound it like a sword.
If you tell me to come, I'll leave everything...
Arriving at your sanctuary, an old man,
I will compensate you for my lateness
By spreading my essence, Oh Christ! before your altar,
Like the soft perfume of the tube rose.


Previous

13. Hora tras hora, día tras día - Hour after hour, day after day - Rosalía de Castro

12. Una mujer me ha envenenado el alma - A woman has poisoned my soul - Gustavo Adolfo Becquer

11. Como quien oye llover - As one listens to the rain - Octavio Paz

10. Nanas de la cebolla - Onion lullaby - Miguel Hernández

9. Historia de la noche - History of the night - Jorge Luis Borges

8. Romance de la luna, luna! - Federico García Lorca

7. Sinfonía en Gris Mayor - Rubén Darío

6. Si tú me olvidas - If your forget me - Pablo Neruda

5. Juegos de agua - Dulce María Loynaz

4. Al olmo viejo - Antonio Machado

3. Donde habita el olvido - Luis Cernuda

2. Shinto - Jorge Luis Borges

1. Juventud/Youth - Pablo Neruda

Sort:  

Doesn't rhyme well but meaning is good @webosfritos

Poetry translation isn't about rhyme but about meaning, its truly impossible to convey the essence of poetry through a rhyme in a different language... but I appreciate your comment :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61374.19
ETH 2885.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55