Graves (the loss of self)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



Before you kill me, first dig two graves; one for me and the other for my dreams!

You should only dig the first grave shallow, better to save your strength because you'll need it for the second. Make sure you dig that one deep! Cleave as far into the cold earth as you can go, until any worthless ghosts will be tightly gripped by the claws of damnation...

A headstone?.. Why bother!?.

But if you must then carve them from wood, not stone so that they too will rot and decay until it were as if they never existed; and when your inscribing the names upon them, write only these two things:

Nobody! and Nothing!

© Westley Nash (2018)
#thoughtsofsteel


Note from the author: Originally written in 2003, "Graves" is part of a collection of works I call the "Reflect Project" as they are some of the earliest poems that I ever wrote, which I am now updating to modern day. Many of these were penned during a troubled time in my life, long before I turned to Mindfulness and Philosophy. They all serve to remind me of an important lesson I learned through my life, to help chart my journey... In this instance it's to avoid losing oneself in the pursuit of loving another


Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by and view my content, I am most honoured indeed and hope you have a really great day :)

Best wishes
Westley xx


You can also find me here:

YouTube
Facebook
Instagram
Twitter
DeviantArt

STEEM MINNOW BANNER.gif


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

A little darker from you than I am used to but very well written and impactful.

Thanks :-) In many ways it was written by a completely different person, or at least from a completely different perspective ;-) Way back in 2003, just suffered my first serious heartbreak and feeling dramatic as hell because it seemed like the world had actually ended lol...

I've decided to break out my old poems as part of a new project, to reconnect with my past, to put some old struggles into a modern perspective. I've found it rather reassuring to see how much has changed for the better :-)

Absolutely ... I felt it was a different person writing it entirely but it was extremely well-written. i have been combing the backlogs as well and so much of the stuff just doesn't resonate with me now. Too negative.

I was about to say it sounds like a shadow of your bright and positive posts. Now I know why. It just shows we all hurt and we break sometimes but that makes us stronger.

I can honestly say that every positive and inspired thought I hold, every lesson I offer came through rebuilding myself anew first hand. I like to give these older poems airtime, because some people think I was either always like I am now or that I have no idea what I'm talking about... But I have seen absolute darkness and so have learned to turn on the light :-)

I might just give that a look, may prove interesting :-)

I love the depth of feeling you show in this one. Although, I can't imagine the feeling were fun to experience.

Thanks :-) It was a very troubled time for sure. I like to keep them around as a reminder; even out of struggle lessons and art can surface :-)

A darkly existential accusation against the waste of a life.

Darkly is very much the definer ;-) As I say, from pain real emotions flow :-)

True words, as I know from my own poetry and a traumatizing childhood, one piece of which is shared in my latest post in Steemit.

I think I just read that one, it certainly holds an emotional accuracy that suggests a personal experience as opposed to a vicarious one... Written very well, real artistic venture. Just a shame it had to arise from out of a place of such suffering..

Thanks.

Yes, it’s a hard thing to live such turmoil. But, don’t you think the best creative works arise from our struggles? Whether the piece is uplifting and happy or dark and tragic, it comes from dealing with our struggles. For myself, I have found that my struggles have made my current blessed estate all the more precious. I live my life in gratitude for the joys of my life today, at least in part, because of the darkness of my life before.

Absolutely... All of my best poems and philosophies were born from out of dark times. It gives you both a powerful story and the fierce desire to tell it :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71342.73
ETH 3809.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49