Rain in August

in #poetry5 years ago

Set me adrift downstream of my deepest thoughts.

Let the eddies and currents
jostle me from complacent contemplation,
force me to steer at risk of capsizing
into the depths of my mind.

What was it that tethered me to shore?

What stopped me from being swept away?

I peer over the side, meekly searching for my own reflection
and finding the waters too murky, too muddled.

Perhaps this is for the better:
they always say to go with the flow.

Who in their goddamn mind asked for rain in August?
Who requested a torrential downpour to complement the sun?

Skin soaked a sickly mixture of sweat and rain,
beading across my forearms like rivulets of honey
dripping down the side of a jar.
I can't shake it away or dab it dry
any better than I can point at the sky
and proclaim that clouds are banned, now--
it's time for rainbows and sunshine
until such time that I can debark and find shelter
to weather the storm.

I come to grips
with the fact that as long as the deluge threatening
to break the banks and incite a flash flood
has yet to burst,
everything is okay.

Everything is okay. Everything is okay. Everyth-

One huge breath as I go under,
plunging below
to do some soul-searching.

Unafraid, though uncertain
of what I may find.

Sort:  

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Very nice poem!
Manually curated by @akiroq.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

This post has been selected for curation by @sunravelme. It has been upvoted and will be featured in this week's Working Title post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

I do this post each week and choose some of the best under-rewarded content I can find on the blockchain. You might be featured next! Help me give you GREAT rewards, make sure you post with the #palnet and the #creativecoin tag or use the PALnet.io front end. If you do, you'll earn PALcoin AND Steem from @msp-curation, and will probably hit trending on PALnet.io. What are you waiting for? Get creating!

Skin soaked a sickly mixture of sweat and rain,
beading across my forearms like rivulets of honey
dripping down the side of a jar.

I love this poem - it creates a lot of tension, and I love the cut off line - that suddenness of going under. Got here via @sunravelme's curation, and looking forward to reading more of your work!

Appreciate the comment! Hoping to have a bit more time to sit and spin some poems day to day. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04