Poem of the day 16: She Hides Her Face

in #poetry6 years ago

Wrote this 25 years ago when I was dealing with some negative stuff in my life. Poetry is my way of expression and some of what I write is negative/dark, but some is positive/bright. It all depended on the day and what I was dealing with at that particular time in my life. Sometimes, words can't describe the feelings that are bottled up inside so I do the best that I can to express those feelings onto papers, but even then it is not enough. There are days that I wish I could just be a mime and display my feelings that way, but alas, I just hold it in and then when it becomes too much, that is when I write it all down to try and relieve some of the pressure within my soul.

She Hides Her Face

She hides her face
when she’s not alone
she wears a mask,
but its not her own

It's everyone else
she wants to be
Be just like them
supposedly free

Free from the troubles
the troubles of life
free from sin
and worries and strife

But when night time falls
and she climbs into bed
her mask falls apart
and her heart fills with dread

She screams and she cries
but no one can hear
she wants them to know
know all her fears

Her fear of facing
a world with no mask
afraid they wont like her
afraid they wont ask

So she waits for the day
with hope in her heart
when she'll wear her own face
and make her new start

Copyright 1993

Hope y'all enjoy and have a wonderful and blessed day!

Sort:  

Hey @wolfmaiden. Just dropping in to see how you're doing here on steemit? It's good to see you are sharing your poetry. Keep going.

Thank you and I am doing alright. Been busy with other things in life so I have not been posting much. Life is crazy right now, so I am struggling with that right now. Thanks again for dropping by @kchitrah :)

Oh, hope things get smoother soon. xx

Take care.

Oh, I know this feeling.

This piece has a lovely flow to it. :)

Sending love to you and Erin. <3

Thank you @mamadini :) I have been away for a while due to my son's graduation. Trying to get back into the swing of things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63159.84
ETH 2972.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57