Poem of the day 18: Spun

in #poetry6 years ago

I wrote this October 1998 during one of the rough periods of my life. As I stated in the video, I have never done anything to get me to that state of mind; it was just the words that flowed from the emotions of learning some bad news. Please remember to subscribe to my youtube channel, comment, and thumbs up if you enjoyed what you have read and heard.

I want to thank @whoshim from @isleofwrite platform that did the proofreading of this poem. Thank you for your suggestions and helpfulness, it was very much appreciated to have a second set of eyes on such an old poem.

Spun

I am spun out of my mind,
that the time seems to just pass on by.
I sit here and shake, and then go numb.
By now, I know that I am spun.

My hands are sweaty; my knees are weak.
It’s so bad, I can hardly speak.
My mouth gets so dry
that I can’t hardly say goodbye.
I can’t eat and can’t sleep;
Yes, I’ve tried counting sheep.
I’ve been up for 3 days now,
And all I am doing is wandering around in a daze.

As my heart starts to beat faster and faster,
my head starts to spin.
Now the adrenaline rush starts to begin.
I put all my worries off to the side,
So I can kick back and enjoy the ride.
But, when it’s all over and done,
I’m gonna wish to God, that I was still spun.

By: Thressa (Dunn) Scott
Copyright: October 1998

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60