Poem of the day 22: Life

in #poetry6 years ago

I wrote this poem in January 1997. Life was kinda crazy at that time because I was getting ready for graduation and then heading off to college. Funny how life has changed for me since that time...I became a mom, moved away from family to another state, met my wife and finished my college degree. Now I am in another state in the south and enjoying the new adventure.

Hope y'all enjoyed the poem and please remember to subscribe, comment, and give a thumbs up. Have a wonderful and blessed day.

Life

I had lost all joy and hope,
My heart was filled with much despair,
I walked out into the sunlight,
To breathe the clear, fresh air.
I walked a mile or maybe two,
I asked myself, “Why so blue?”
I looked around me -- seeking there
Daffodils, green grass, blue sky,
But clouds were forming too.
Then the rain fell gently down.
I walked on, back toward town.
I told myself, “The clouds must come,
The rain must fall.”
If not, the daffodils will never bloom,
Nor the green grass grow,
So this is life –
To live it fully, to know its beauty,
We must accept the rain; it’s our duty.
Clouds disappear, the sun will shine –
On joy and love, our hearts will dine!!

By: Thressa (Dunn) Scott
Copyright: January 1997

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62