Poem of the day 23: Death (a poem)

in #poetry6 years ago

Wrote this in October 1997 just a couple months after I started my first year of college. I was going through some nasty stuff and I was under a suicide watch because of some things I said to the Residential Assistant and a counselor at the college I went to. Things are a bit better than they were 21 yrs ago, but there are days that I just want to leave and not return. Life can be very cruel and sometimes it is not worth the heartache.
Please remember to subscribe, comment and give a thumbs up. Have a wonderful and blessed day!

Death (a poem)

Sweat trickles down my face,
Though the icy chill comes,
The needles in my skin are going deeper.

It’s oh, so silent,
Yet my ears are ringing with pain,
HE has taken over my mind.

My head swings back and forth,
Though in a trance,
Staring off into space.

Torture through eternity,
Power through evil,
The rest is too gray to be spoken of.

By: Thressa (Dunn) Scott
Copyright: October 14, 1997

Sort:  

Congratulations @wolfmaiden! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62683.02
ETH 2962.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64