Falling and Leaves

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Falling And Leaves
IMG_0201.jpg
(Mistakes)
The window breaks
And all that's left between us is the pain.
Try to contain
(But) your stones are leaving scars that spell your name.

You laugh, you cry before you throw.

(Pray)
I've done my share
And with your satisfaction we should disappear.
The moment to adhere (is now)
For the chronicles and epics wasted our years.

You laugh, you cry until you're falling
And yet expecting me to set you free.
But this time around I think I'll leave
Knowing you would do the same to me.

Hi All.

I decided to update this poem with some commentary. So here goes.
The words in brackets should be whispered when reading it to someone. Within this poem the literary tool, parentheses, were used to the effect of tonal adjustment.

as you can see the second stanza is one line. The stanza is burdened by overwhelming emotion and thus the narrator is lost for words. The last stanza is the continuation of the second, as the narrator bravely states what he/she predicts and how he/she will deal with the situation at hand.

Thank You!

The picture is original and is of my cat Mary. She is gone now. The name of the poem was inspired by the poem "The Kitten and the Falling Leaves." By William Wordsworth (1770 - 1850). When my brother and I were very young, I being 5 years old, we stumbled upon the poem and in an attempt to recall its name, one of us said "Cat falling and leaves". To our infant minds, it was hilarious how the meaning was totally rewritten and that the word "leaves" had become a verb. I remembered the incident when i was writing this piece at fifteen in secondary school. I am 31 years old now and recently found the poem in a dusty book. Life is enough...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00