I am your drugsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

addict-2713526_1920.jpg

Why did you leave me? What did I do wrong?
I make you feel safe, and I make you feel strong.
I fill you with warmth when you’re feeling in tatters.
I snake through your veins until nothing else matters.

I know why you left me. I know what went wrong.
Though I make you feel safe, I do not make you strong.
The feeling I give, when you’re stuck in my net
Is a fix, nothing more; and that’s all you will get.

That feeling is false. It’s not safety, not strength.
I’m a bandage that’s wrapping you up with my length.
You think I’m your healer, we’re so intertwined.
But for your wounds to heal, we need to unwind.

Your life had such promise, before my lure found you
And now I exist in the shadows around you.
I wait till you’re low, then I wrap you up tight
Till you feel like it’s fine, like your life is alright.

I don’t fix your problems, I cover them up.
I’m a poisonous drink in a bottomless cup.
You can’t live without me… I numb all your pain.
But my poison will fuck you again and again.

You are your own person, you have your own soul.
Feeling safe for a moment should not be your goal.
Sometimes things happen that make you feel shit.
But you only get one life, and this one is it.

And if you always hide, always turn back to me…
I’ll hug you. I’ll trap you! You’ll never be free.
If you stay hooked on me, you’ll eventually rot.
Rot the wonderful soul that I know you have got.

Put me down. Turn around. Walk away. Don’t look back.
Find the pieces I’ve stolen, and get back on track.
I’ll follow, I’ll plead, and I’ll beg you to use me.
I’ll stay in your head, hoping you will abuse me.

I want to come in. I am knocking for more.
Don’t let me in. Leave the house, lock the door.
There’s nobody else quite like you, this I know.
I’m so glad that we met, but you’re right to let go.

Sort:  

emotional mate, this has so much feeling, you know where I am if you need me. hope your well xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62873.38
ETH 3037.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63