Three Queens...

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

cb32aad56800b3a891aa121b2e48a828.jpgShe strode brightly at dusk...
and soon her daughter to follow...
As I stood wrapt, yet again, on the belly of the third...
... and I wondered, would I ever be set free?

My crimes so deep, my absolution so... delayed.
Today marks the anniversary... of the cowardly fool who set it in motion.
Thirty moons... and I lay dead.
My punishment so tempting... so... delayed.

I had overstepped my bounds, tried taking what was not yet mine to take...
I had just wanted to rest... and now my blessing weighs heavy on my brow...
My curse, written forever in my bones...

I did not ask for this... before I did.
... and fair is Fair.

I will falter, I will stumble... I will crawl even... but the road is mine.
... and I will not leave it.

Though you may have to drag me... I will not leave it...

I obey...

©2018 @yestermorrow

Sort:  

Beautiful and inspiring. Such vivid imagery and emotion. Love love love ❤️

Thanks, darling... One year... no wonder I'm bummed, eh?

But it started this whole thing... so... shrug

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99