The Oracle - A Poem of sorts

in #poetry6 years ago

IMG_20180325_113950_935.jpg
I don't usually spend a lot of time writing poetry, my desire to do waxes and wanes.

But as I was cleaning out my Evernote I came across this one that I actually admired. In fact it is the only one that was saved alone and by itself while the rest are unorganized and sloppily running into each other in a note pages long.
With out further ado:

The Oracle

Home is where the heart is,
so I have no home to go
A rootless tree is dead and decayed
In a barren wasteland,
no seeds could grow
Fire cleanses, it also destroys
Only the salty seas can put out,
but it taints the ground,
like Sherman's March,
so all I get is just desert.
while vultures circle my head
my throat is cracked and parched,
Marriage mirage, I see what I want
But I know it's too late to return
as I dove into the deep unknown.
I haven't lost much, But only enough
To reap what myself have sown,
A lustful life and double faced lie
seduces my sleepless mind
Lost in my thoughts,
I dream of reality
One worthy enough to find
ever sifting my gaze,
Like a rat in a maze
Oh,
What wondrous lives I've led.
What wondrous lies I've lived.

I thought I carried a torch
But it was only a match
That I put to the signal pyre
It burned and burned
Until the wick was ashed.
With the Oracle I sang
With the Oracle I danced
And wisps of smoke we drank
It took to the sky
We flew through the veil
To the land of mist and myth
To know the gods,
I knew myself.
With a hand on my shoulder
and a claw in my spine
saw beauty in the boulders
and fell in love with time
I hope that its seen,
I hope that you see
the trail of smoke to take the stars
to find some light
and learn to fight
against the monsters of the abyss
Oh,
What a wondrous life I could lead.
What wondrous truths I may have seen.

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Nicely done.

I, too, may have, and could have seen.

Lovely work. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for you kind words! :)

You're welcome! Always nice to meet a fellow wordsmith. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60719.63
ETH 2911.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59