Steemit Poetry Contest #7 - Leaving Home

in #poetrycontest6 years ago (edited)

photo-1436812911242-3d475df4bdd1.jpeg

Credits: Cindy Tang

Leaving Home

Setting off a chain reaction,
My soul pulled in three directions.
In one, the girl I loved was calling.
Telling me to be with her, to never ever leave her lonely.

The second wasn't clear to me,
Though later on, it pulled me stronger.
My family! They wanted me, to leave when my dad smelled the weed.
But later on my soul began to burn for them, and them for me.

In the end, it's the third that pulled on me the most.
I never knew at 21, that I would need rebirth.
Crawling out myself and being forced to face the World.
This all catalyzed, the year that I left home.

by: Jarryon Paul

Sort:  

This post has received a 0.15 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Lovely picture to match the topic of this poem babe! I love it

Leaving home is certainly a perspective changing event. Sometimes, that's what it takes in order to find yourself.

For me it was akin to being tossed into the fire :') I had to feel the burn. I must say though it's just like you say, maybe just what I needed to begin the search for myself. Thanks for the comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70013.82
ETH 3766.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80