Steemit Poetry Contest #11 + Winners of #10!

in #poetrycontest6 years ago



DISCLAIMER - Yes, I know that the Steemit logo has changed, but I like the old one more and do not want to change it :)



logocontest.png




My Greetings To You!




The theme for Steemit Poetry Contest #11 - Loneliness




About Prizes:


First Place - 8 SBD

Second Place - 7 SBD

Third Place - 6 SBD

Fourth Place - 5 SBD

Fifth Place - 4 SBD

Sixth Place - 3 SBD

Seventh Place - 2 SBD

Eighth Place - 1 SBD




Entries will be accepted within five days from the date of publication of an announcement!

Deadline - January 16 7:30 AM UTC





The winners of the Steemit Poetry Contest #10



1st Place - "Big Cosmic Baby" by @chrisroberts



I started as a single cell inside a cosmic storm;

That cell began to multiply, to instantly reform.

I once was small, but heard the call to change and quickly grow;

I held my breath and hitchhiked on the interstellar flow.



I never stopped creating, always growing as I went,

Absorbing the results of all the energy I spent.

Galaxies and nebula appeared as little ants,

The scope of my pure magnitude would shift with every glance.



At last I grew so large that I contained a billion stars,

My belly quite unsteady from a thousand cosmic wars,

Although I once was small and now I am forever grown,

I would not change at all my life; I must not be alone.






2nd Place - "WART" by @carrieallen



It started as just a wee itch.

Some days I'd forget it was there.

Was never a reason to bitch,

Less bothersome than ingrown hair



With a pop it began to emerge.

Strange dots then appeared on the top.

But prior to singing my durge,

I figured out how it could stop!



I grabbed a banana, I need just the peel.

Some duct tape to hold it in place.

While tightly securing the green to my heal,

I give thanks it's not on my face!






3rd Place - "Fractal Climb"by @hypexals-spiral



From the very moment you are born,

death pricks at you like an unforgiving thorn,

but there's a spark within that lives and grows,

with the inherent beauty and balance of a rose.



You will aim for greater heights,

as the sky reaches out during uncertain nights,

so keep your faith that the Sun's light will return,

for growth is a virtue from which we all earn.



When times are uncertain look upon the midnight moon,

and sing aloud your spirit's signature tune,

for we all participate in the symphony of time,

as we love and grow in this fractal climb.






4th Place - "The Nature of Growth" by @belovebelight



Nature shows us its majestic ways,

Hoping we might offer gratitude throughout each of our days.

The lessons given are hard but valuable indeed,

Just as we witnessed from the persistent plantain tree.



For many days it may go without water,

Even be cut down, or seemingly brought to the slaughter.

No matter the weather it stands tall and keeps on growing,

Even though it seems natural, yet impossible or unknowing.



If it perseveres through all obstacles and trials throughout time,

That energy given will produce beautiful fruit beyond reason and rhyme.

Pragmatic and enlightened one will be if they even dare tried,

Because that same lesson to anyone can be applied.






5th Place - "Timorous Growth" by @fishyculture



Clinging to familiar things that make me feel at home

While gazing out the window, seeking paths to the unknown.

The ego feels empowered by the habits of my life

Which is sufficient reason to embrace a little strife.



Routines fill every hour of my every passing day

Disruption is upsetting, I think I like my life this way.

Yet somewhere in my patterned soul a little rebel lives

Set to chuck it all and see what life free-wheeling gives.



Change is the only constant friend on this, our mortal walk

Yet when it beckons, fear steps in and causes us to balk.

So overcome, embrace the void, there's so much left to know

And outside of our comfort zone is where we really grow!






6th Place - "The Fall and Rise" by @moonsoleil



In the middle of a field

Was a burned down oak

Its trunk turned to ash

In the sky still lingering smoke



Beside it stood a little girl

A lighter in her hand

She looked at me and smiled

And I could not understand



She spoke to me: ‘you see

This is the truest of all:

In order to rise,

One first must always fall.’






7th Place - "Grow wise enough, beloved son!" by @hazem91



Do not grow fast but please grow wise.

You grow up once you realise

that no one cares about your size

if all you say is nothing but lies.



It's never about how big you grow

but what you learned and what you saw

and mostly about how well you know

who's a friend and who's a foe.



Grow wise enough, beloved son,

to do the best that can be done.

For if you can't be number one

there's nothing left to be won.






8th Place - "Seeds of Thought" by @renascence



Here they are, thought after thought

Aspirations, ideas, and everything I've been taught

This fragile dandelion, filled with thoughts too

What if every seed, is a memory it's been through



Poor dandelion, your future is your seeds

And are told your flowers, are merely weeds

Every seed is a chance, maybe you'll find

An open field to flourish, with your own kind



With a single breath, your memories soar

This is the moment, you've been living for

I know you'll prosper, you will make it just fine

Your mind is flying free, and so will mine






Rules of The Contest!


  • Only one entry is allowed.

  • Your entry-post must be tagged both #poetry and #poetrycontest

  • The Title must be "SteemitPoetryContest #(with the number of the actual episode)" + the name of your poem.

  • You can use any types of rhyme - End rhyme, Cross rhyme, Internal etc.

  • The size of the poem - three quatrains (one quatrain = four lines).

  • Do not steal! The contest is only original works!






I wish everyone good luck and creativity!





Let's make STEEMIT more interesting and varied together!



Sincerely, Terry Craft.



Sort:  

Wow congratulations to all the winners. I was also a participant of the great contest but failed to receive any prizes, but would like to thank the great opportunity. Thanks my friend for your great efforts.

Lake Titicaca.....Nicaragua! Aqua! For my bunghole....

Thanks from my heart, from India to Titicaca.

Hi! I posted my "Alone" poem. Hope its not too late to enter it. For some reason I just came across your challenge. Super excited for the next entry I have been looking for challenges like these. I love writing. Thank you for hosting these challenges!!! @terrycraft
Here is a link to my entry
https://steemit.com/poetrycontest/@kellywin21/steemit-poetry-contest-11-alone

This seems fun!
I've created my entry post here! Please do give a read :)
Thank you.

A big congratulations to all the winners , well done !! 🚀🎉
This is my first time entering the poetry contest hope you like it ! Heres the link to my entry ! : Upped and resteemed !
https://steemit.com/poetry/@karenmckersie/steemit-poetry-contest-11-lonely-steemit-moon

Oh hey there again :P
Nice to see you here too! Even I thought of giving this contest a shot haha.
Upvoted your poem, all the best~ :)

You should for sure !! Good luck @yesaye ! and thanks for the support !👌👍✌💕

Thank you! And anytime :)

Wow, thanks, Terry! I'm honored to have my poem selected as the big winner from such a long list of great entries! A few months ago I never would have guessed that people actually wanted to read my poetry. My hat's off to you, sir, for facilitating all this creativity.

As for lonliness... we'll see if I can come up with anything. This topic is way outside the realm of my understanding. ;) I have Steemit.

Hello, Chris!

Your poem pierced my soul! To me, as a great space lover and futurist, it was very pleasant and exciting to reread this several dozen times :)

Thank you! I am honored!

Your poem was awesome! I didn't see it until now. And you used the exact same meter as mine! :D
Great minds think in iambs.

Shhh! Don't tell Terry but truly, I am more of a songwriter... they all come with tunes in my head so they are always going to have "that" feel... lol!
I suspect you suffer the same syndrome :)

Hello @terrycraft here is my entry
https://steemit.com/poetrycontest/@tony-duke/steemit-poetry-contest-11-search-for-peace

Errm, me and @ajremy have been planning on starting a weekly poetry contest too,,, the voice of poets on steemit are hidden and poetry posts do not get much notice. So we are looking for sponsors, only your contest is not enough to accomodate all poets on steemit,,, i would have contacted you on steemit.chat, but i have not been able to login my acc for a while now,,,, so pls ur feedback will be appreciated.

Good idea
the poets really needs a community
we'll be glad

Wow! The entries keep getting better and better. You're obviously drawing talent out of the woodwork @terrycraft. Thanks again for putting this on. Trying to get back on the podium this week. :-) Here is my entry: https://steemit.com/poetry/@dagger212/steemitpoetrycontest-11-loneliness-wash-away-my-love-original-poetry-by-dagger212

Great contest, will appreciate to got the chance the awesome platform

Hello @terrycraft! I would like to join the contest and below is the link to my entry. Thank you!

"SteemitPoetryContest #11: Staring At The Blue Moon

Staring At The Blue Moon

coinbelly

You are holding my arms singing your lullabies,

Clearly I can hear your voice while I'm staring at your eyes.

I can feel your heartbeat while you're kissing my cheek,

And suddenly you were gone with just one clicked



Everything was so real, I thought you were here!

Remembering your unconditional love oh my mother dear.

I still can't move on to this reality,

Now I'm living my life with a heart that is empty.



Why did you have to leave me so soon?

I was left alone staring at the blue moon.

You didn't even say your goodblyes,

And now I'm suffering! Look at my teary eyes.



cultured.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66