Steemit Poetry Contest #2 + Winners of #1!

in #poetrycontest7 years ago


logocontest.png




My Greetings To You!




The theme for Steemit Poetry Contest #2 - Silence in any of its interpretations.




About Prizes:


First Place - 15 SBD

Second Place - 10 SBD

Third Place - 5 SBD




Entries will be accepted within five days from the date of publication of an announcement!

Deadline - November 2 3:30 AM UTC





The winners of the Steemit Poetry Contest #1



1st Place - @lymmerik with his excellent, as it seems to me, "nostalgia"! When I read it, I practically heard a song based on these poem performed by Metallica!



This is not what freedom be,

Stagnant air is not free to breathe.

One more breath before I leave,

Give me back the old days, please!



This is not of freedom's creek,

Poisoned water is not free to drink.

One more sip before I leave,

Give me back the old days, please!



This is not for freedom's feed,

GMO labels not free to read.

One more bite before I leave,

Give me back the old days, please!



2nd Place - @chrisroberts... what can I say, I'm just afraid of this guy with all his knives and shotguns, so I decided to give him the second place... joke, of course :) I liked his impulse to fight all injustice!



I wish I had a shotgun that could blast hypocrisy,

By triggering, explode the world view

Of those who think that what they see

Is worse than what they do.



I'd like a knife so sharp that it could cut the threads of lies,

Confusing and dividing us since youth.

I'd slice them down to nothing

Leaving only room for truth.



An axe to crack the chains that bind my brothers and my sisters

Would feel at home within my callused hands;

I'd swing my weapon, bringing Peace

And Freedom to the lands.



3rd Place - @rachelburger Well, it's just a brain explosion! Here we literally immerse ourselves in the reality of all that evil, that for us only ordinary life and we do not even think about it. We, the people, with our technological progress, are real monsters for all living beings.



Corroding carcasses crisp roadside

Eyes crunch and juice in scavenging birds' beaks

Raccoons break bones and gnash their teeth

Another truck swerves and kills



But Adam's squirrel still squirms

He wraps it tight, placing blanket in box

Can we keep it? He asks, then demands

He's a wild thing, Mom says



Snot soils Adam's face

Dripping into tearful drool

The squirrel, released, runs in a rage of freedom

Fearful of the people and cars still caging him



I would also like to mention several authors(with prizes 2 sbd to each):



@iyanpol12 and his struggle with depression HERE



@xyzashu and his interpretation of freedom based on respect for the freedoms of others HERE



@jonknight about our slavery, that so imperceptibly shackling our hands and minds from the very childhood! HERE






In fact, it is very, very difficult to choose only three poems! Most of you write wonderful poems! Some of them are difficult to perceive by my "Russian" brain :) But I perfectly see the potential and all the beauty. Some of the poems are simple and easy, some hide a sacred meaning or subtle humor... Probably, I even feel guilty that I can not do something more for you all! But, it is necessary, to begin with something, friends! I am sure that we will "grow up" and be able to do more! Do not give up! Support each other! I do not choose the winners by the number of comments or the SBD amount on a post. If you liked the verses of another participant, vote for his (or her) post!





Rules of The Contest!


  • Only one entry is allowed.

  • Your entry-post must be tagged both #poetry and #poetrycontest

  • The Title must be "SteemitPoetryContest #(with the number of the actual episode)" + the name of your poem.

  • You can use any types of rhyme - End rhyme, Cross rhyme, Internal etc.

  • The size of the poem - three quatrains (one quatrain = four lines).

  • Do not steal! The contest is only original works!






Do not take everything to heart, my opinion is subjective.

I wish everyone good luck and creativity!





Let's make STEEMIT more interesting and varied together!



Sincerely, Terry Craft.



Sort:  

good

Congratulations to the winners : @lymmerik , @chrisroberts & @rachelburger and thanks to our good @terrycraft for organising this good contest...steemit is indeed beautiful because of people like you.
I couldnt comment for a while and hope all is great now...I posted about the issue today, feel free to see it...happy weekend.

The Title must be "SteemitPoetryContest #(with the number of the actual episode)" + the name of your poem.
Dear @terrycraft please tell me. What do you mean by actual episode?

Can not be more than four quarters?

Hi.

  1. I announced second contest, so title must be SteemitPoetryContest #2

  2. Poem = 3 quatrains (4 lines in each)

WOW, really amazing entries, I loved all the entries to this contest. I'm humbled by the mention to my writings as well. Thank you!

Thank you! And good luck in future contests :)

Hello @terrycraft. Kudos for this. Will give it a shot this time.

Can I join poetrycontest on this day @terrycraft.?
My best regards @green07 for you .. :-)

Read the rules and participate :) I do not see the problem ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62985.30
ETH 3106.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87