Steemit Poetry Contest #4 + Winners of #3!

in #poetrycontest6 years ago



DISCLAIMER - Yes, I know that the Steemit logo has changed, but I like the old one more and do not want to change it :)



logocontest.png




My Greetings To You!




I really like many of your poems! But... I need to choose only three - this is a very, very difficult task! Do not lose faith in yourself and do not give up! Remember, my opinion is subjective!




The theme for Steemit Poetry Contest #4 - Emptiness




About Prizes:


First Place - 15 SBD

Second Place - 10 SBD

Third Place - 5 SBD




Entries will be accepted within five days from the date of publication of an announcement!

Deadline - November 17 6:30 AM UTC





The winners of the Steemit Poetry Contest #3



1st Place - "An Ocean of Words" by @sonci



There is a ocean big and wide

There is no water, there is no tide

Dolphins and whales are the fish within.

And minnows, like I shortly have been.



Words are flowing more and more

Some float on the surface, some dive to the core.

Touching the heart, touching the soul

For me this is a worthy goal.



The ocean keeps growing day by day

Like sprouting flowers in early may.

Sources come and sources go

Everything is in a steady flow.






2nd Place - "Roaring Sea, Internal..." by @redsfallin



I ain't this simple little minion,

I have to ask for most,

To many questions,

About everything in the universe.



Deep in the collection of subjects,

Like ninety eight percent ocean,

I can be a stream or the Roaring Sea,

Internal tidal wave of consciousness.



Flooding most moments with no gates,

To hold one back, from the existing space,

Starting slowly, accept, surrender thinking of knowing,

The only place where the chance to know is happening.






3rd Place - "Enjoying the View"by @johnwjr7



Sitting on the beach, enjoying the cool breeze

Viewing the ocean while in the shade of some trees

The sun hits the water and makes it look so shiny

Some ladies in bikinis show me most of their hiney



The view is so lovely I dare not miss any with a blink

A tall glass of cool lemonade is my number one drink

It's the first vacation I've been on in over a year

It may be a long time till another is something I fear



I'm just enjoying life, seeing what I can see on the sea

Hoping that the rest of the world will just let me be

When it's time to go home I think that I will see

If one of the ladies in a bikini will want to go with me





Rules of The Contest!


  • Only one entry is allowed.

  • Your entry-post must be tagged both #poetry and #poetrycontest

  • The Title must be "SteemitPoetryContest #(with the number of the actual episode)" + the name of your poem.

  • You can use any types of rhyme - End rhyme, Cross rhyme, Internal etc.

  • The size of the poem - three quatrains (one quatrain = four lines).

  • Do not steal! The contest is only original works!






I wish everyone good luck and creativity!





Let's make STEEMIT more interesting and varied together!



Sincerely, Terry Craft.



Sort:  

Here is my entry post,

https://steemit.com/poem/@rayne122/steemitpoetrycontest-4-emptyness-inside-of-me

And here is the poem :)



Emptiness Inside of Me

Emptiness, it's an echoing voice.
Emptiness, it's a crying smile.
Where the star shines in morning,
and the darkness feels so nice.

The Love that says goodbye,
where the Ocean flows in the sky.
Where you can feel the sea breeze from a dessert,
and a dangerous storm nearby.

It's not a fact if you smile,
neither it is if you cry.
Just be who you are or who you can be,
Or atleast, just don't hesitate to try.


I like the idea of poetry contests and surprised to see so many interested Steemians. Here is my entry:
https://steemit.com/poetry/@dianasilvarumdea/steemit-poetry-contest-4-last-embrace

Here is my entry to this contest:

https://steemit.com/poetry/@jmromero/steemitpoetrycontest-4-what-you-did-to-me-a-poem-for-the-broken-hearted

I really like the idea to participate in this contest. I hope you find my poem suitable.

great contest @terrycraft , here is my entry :)
https://steemit.com/poem/@educ.leb/steemitpoetrycontest-4-asking-my-self-change

Asking my self ... change !

For some peoples heart is just a place,
Where the emptiness & loss always reins.
They take the bad way without any sense,
Knowing that this way is dagerous & false.

Nothing to do on this world,
We missed out our chance.
Their brains holds a password,
To know that ervery one have a second chance.

You feel lossed,alone & most of time empty?
Your friends & familly are here for you !
So if you want to be happy?
start by seeing things positivelly & let your heart guide you !

My entry!
https://steemit.com/poetry/@wildwoman/steemitpoetrycontest-4-where-i-belong

Where I belong
You’ve been given a bad name
A reputation that you’re supposed to be tamed
You’ve been seen by the wrong eye
Never really noticed as top prize

But there you are forever faithful
To the blissful and the painful
If perceptions could change to see you
Different context and different purview

People would know you are not of pain
you are full of truth and no playing of game
You are where I live without temptedness
You are the peace of mind that is emptiness

Oh my goodness this was so much fun!!

Here’s my submission:
https://steemit.com/poetry/@jjwriter85/steemitpoetrycontest-4-oh-how-the-cookie-crumbles

I hope you all enjoy!


Oh how the cookie crumbles
——-

The emptiness found was impeccable
A tear, from each eye, did drop
The line was drawn and she knew all along
Some day, someone would drop the ball
——-
She wondered, “How could this be happening?
Surely, this must be a dream”
She checked all the cabinets swept over in sadness
Just wanting to kick and to scream
——-
For she had never felt a heart as broken
Until finding that cookie-less jar
She took a deep breath, grabbed her keys and she left
Heading straight for the closest snack bar

Hi here's my link entry for this week's poetry theme 'emptiness' --entitling

OBLIVION

https://steemit.com/poetry/@deeday31/steemitpoetrycontest-4-oblivion

Hope you'll like it @terrycraft :)

Congratulations winners! You deserve to win in the previous entry.
I knew they are the ones!

Hi @terrycraft! Keep up and more power! We can`t wait to read your poems too. :)

Too many things... but I'll try :)

всё ещё рубишь бабло, хах

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97