Poetry Tour Destinations #1 - Washington DC

in #poetrytour6 years ago (edited)

washington-dc-1607766_1920.jpg

I recently made a post about my desire to embark on a poetry reading tour in 2018. The plan is to travel around by car to different poetry readings, read one of my poems at the open mic event and meet and talk with local poets. I would also like to document the trip on video and perhaps make a short documentary about it.

I have been doing research on open mics across the land (Canada and the United States) and there are so many opportunities in which a poet can read his or her work. Over the next little while, I am going to showcase some of the opportunities to read poetry as I research and plan my excursion. Here is the first venue that I am considering.

Busboys and Poets - Washington DC

Busboys and Poets poetry events are held at a chain of Vegetarian/Vegan restaurants of the same name. While that style of cuisine is certainly not my thing, I could certainly look past that. Readings are held on pretty much every night of the week at one of their 6 locations.

The name "Busboys and Poets" is in honour of American poet Langston Hughes, who worked as a busboy at the Wardman Park Hotel in the 1920s before he gained recognition as a poet.

Busboys and Poets has the distinct feeling of being a strong community where artists of all races and backgrounds can feel free to come together and share their work and their vision of the world. I certainly would like to make this place a stop on my poetry tour.

How Can You Support My Poetry Tour?

Your upvotes, comments, and re-steems will all help support me so that I can fund this project. However, if you would like to make a contribution to the cause I will be accepting contributions in Steem or SBD. Simply transfer your contribution to @sgtechservices with the memo "Poetry Tour". Any contributions will receive either an ebook or paperback copy of my book of poetry as a thank you depending on the amount of the contribution. Thank you for your support!


Image is from Pixabay.

My name is Scott. I write poetry and other stuff. I'd love it if you followed me.

Sort:  

@sgtechservices thank you for using @echowhale your content was reviewed and with out a doubt is amazing.

Send 0.20- 1.00 steem/sbd to @echowhale and recieve an upvote of greater value

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sgtechservices from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70153.57
ETH 3783.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72