A Foxtrot on the Road of Death

in #poetsunited6 years ago (edited)

A Foxtrot on the Road of Death

Tarred rivers with snakelike coil
a journey to regretted soil
When thoroughfare lit by southern cross
Yields chanting winds that reeks of loss.

Night above and darkness below
Illuminated by a flare shot glow
The bond between rubber and tarmac so immanently clear
when explosives deafened the vigilant ear.

From the darkness emerges the white eyed beast
this reaper is standing with a triggered scythe
a conjured storm that brewed into sight
there was no room for fighting and little for flight

Bullet forged lightning caught my eye
deathly thunder passes by
I looked upon the hands of this fiend of destruction
Standing in a pool of hate-spilled corruption.

The night and me we danced with graceful flow
this foxtrot of death...

...quick, quick, slow

there is no solace in a tremored state
as blood quenched the thirst
of those who moved
too little
too late

U5dryJTkzxt285RdLyVD6RDhFcNY7MN.gif

image credit

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by breeze from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Written in a way that brings the incident close into my experience.
It is well now - and I am grateful that it is so!

<3

Stay connected to your love, and light
your cry is destined to become a sharp outcry
and one day another battle will be won
          ✰           ✰           ✰
I love your verses..
you have not become the beast,
stay ten steps ahead and be careful

Thank you ever so much, I really appreciate your positive feedback!
Yes this was written on request regarding a cash in transit heist that I drove into a month or so ago. was not a pleasant experience, regardless - I have not become the beast. :D

Have a great day.

Great to see @breezin on the onehumanbasket stream! I absolutely love this poem! What a great ballad, I definitely hear music in your words. :-) Cheers!!

Oh hey there you!
How pleasant to hear your great feedback again, yes I took a bit of a break from poetry, and also forgot about your tag for a bit.

So I'm not great at writing poems with rhymes so I admire those that are quite good at it.
This is really nice. I likkie

Oh what a great compliment - I am really glad that you enjoyed it.

One Love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61918.40
ETH 2900.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64