Gargoyle's League, Season 13, Game 3

in #poker4 years ago

Played in Game 3 of Season 12 of Gargoyle’s on Friday. I started the game in 1st place, so that was pretty cool.

10/J and limp/call. We got to the flop with 3 players. Flop is K/J/x. Joey bets like 80% of the pot and the other player folds. I stop to think. If Joey has a King, I don’t think he’d be leading for 80%. Based on this read, his most likely hand is Q/Q or J/X. I raise to like 3x of his bet and he folds.

I look down at A/Kc from the small blind. It’s raised by someone with no callers so I 3-bet and take it down.

5/6c and I decide to see a flop. Flop is 7/8/9 rainbow. I lead for pot and get 2 callers. The Turn is a queen I believe. I bet again and get raised. I call. I believe the river was inconsequential. I check, villain bets, I call. He shows 10/J for the flopped better straight. I love this game. I think I lost the minimum here.

A little while later I find myself with K/K and 3-bet. Called by Kyle. I bet the entire way and Kyle calls me down. My Kings are good and I have a nice stack that’s over 20,000.

A/7s and flop 2 7’s. I lead out and Joey calls. The turn is a Queen. I see Joey check his cards and get a flash of a Queen. He bets. If he had 2 pair on the flop and improved to a better 2 pair, I might be doing pretty well. I call. River was inconsequential. Joey bets, I call. He shows Q/7 for the turned full house. FUN GAME! I think I lost the minimum again.

I 3-bet with K/Qc against Jim. He folds.

I lead for like 3x with Q/Jd from the big blind. It folds around to Jim who shoves. As it’s heads-up, I call. He shows two black 9’s. Flop is A/x/x, 2 diamonds. Not a bad flop for me. However, I don’t improve and Jim takes the hand down. Not great as I lose about 40% of my stack and am down to 9,000 (Starting stack was 10,000). Looking at the numbers like this, it might have been a bit of a loose call. Let’s check the odds calculator:

Looks like a good call with 48% equity against 51%. Pretty standard flip.

The very next hand I’m in the small blind with 7/7. Shardul raises to 1,600 from the button. I call for 1,400 more. Big blind calls for 1,200 more. Flop is 7/8/3 (I think), 2 diamonds. The board has straight and flush possibilities, but I doubt I’ll be called if I bet. I decide to check-raise and check. It checks around. (Face-palm). The turn is the 6 of hearts, adding a heart flush draw to the board. I stick to my strategy. Joey bets 3,000 which is about 60% of the pot. Perfect. Shardul thinks for a minute and then calls. Ugh. I have 7,300 total, so even with a shove I’ll only be increasing Joey by 4,300 or about 30% of the pot. If he was drawing to either a straight or flush he’s getting pretty good odds. Joey instantly calls. Shardul looks surprised and folds. We show and Joey is surprised to see me with a set. The river is the 4 of hearts… to give Joey a straight…and me the boot in 21st place. Ugh.

According to an odds calculator, Joey was only 18% to win there, so it’s good that I got it all-in good, but it sucks to lose to a draw, especially for my tournament life. I really felt like I played well, even though I didn’t play a ton of hands and probably limped too many.

After this game I’m in 4th place and Joey has taken 1st 2 months in a row. Yes, the Joey that hit that straight against me. He’s going to be hard to catch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68