WSOP Poker League, Season 3, Game 9

in #poker4 years ago

Still running like garbage in this league for some reason. Even though I finished in 4th place at the last game, it was mostly because I folded the entire night and only played enough hands to stay alive. It helps that when I’m all-in I tend to hit my hands for some reason.

Early on I try to start making my own luck. I have K/7o and 3-bet against Rocco who calls. All pretty low cards and my c-bet takes it down.

I think I’m in the big blind and call a small raise with 2/3o and call down with bottom pair. I feel like he doesn’t really have anything, neither do I, so I call his river bet. He has 4’s so I felt pretty good about my read and just wanted to validate.

I’m in late position with Q/Jo and call a small raise. Flop top pair and call him the entire way, especially after he bets the same amount on the turn. After this bet I considered raising but didn’t. Thought I might be able to induce another bet on the river, which I did. I was right and took the pot down.

4/4 and raise. 2 callers. Donk-bet on the flop from Rocco takes it down and saves me money!

A/8 in the big blind at least 3 of us go to the flop which is A/8/x, all hearts. I check with the intention of raising. Dave bets 1,000 and I raise to 3,000. He thinks, asks me if I have hearts. I say, “That’s certainly what I’m representing” and he folds and shows an Ace.

9/10o and raise with position. Dave from the big blind calls and says, I’m calling because you’re raising with rags. WTF? He shows Q/x and hit a queen on the turn. What I’m not sure about is if he has a read on me or if he was just messing with me.

4/4 and limp and fold when I don’t hit a set.

Just after Dave has a bad hand against Mike, he raises from early, but is clearly on tilt. I have A/Q from the BB, but Todd 3-bets about 70% of his stack. Against just Todd, I’d probably shove, but against Dave, who will likely call, I decide to fold. Dave calls and folds on the flop, but show A/Jo and Todd shows J/J. Flop was 2/3/3.

From the big blind I get to see a free flop, but do not look at my cards. It is Q/Q/X, 2 hearts, and checks around. The turn is another heart. This time Matt bets like 66% of the pot, probably about 1,000. I finally check my hand and discover A/Qd. Ugh. Should have looked preflop. I decide to raise to 2,500. It folds around to Matt who tanks and then calls. The river is a non-heart card and Matt checks. I check and have him crushed as he had middle pair.

I open from the button with Q/4c to try and mix things up. Russ calls. Flop is K/7/K, 2 clubs. Russ leads into me for 2,000, which I’m assuming was a high amount. Of course I think he’s representing a King, but it also feels like a go-away bet, so maybe the 7. I call. The turn is a non-club 7 and he immediately reaches for chips again and I fold VERY QUICKLY. Russ shows 2/3d for a complete bluff. Ugh.

Raise from late position with K/Qo and get 1 caller, Rob. Flop is 7/8/8 with 2 clubs. I bet 1,500, which is about 60% of the pot and have about 3,000 behind. Rob tanks but asks how many chips I have. I tell him and say that I would love a fold as I want to win the pot. He finally moves all-in and I call. He shows A/J. Turn is an Ace, but a club. I have the King of clubs so have a few outs, but the King on the river does not help me and I’m out in 12th place.

So not a great showing from me in this league. Just haven’t had a lot of great starting hands and have been having a hard time this season getting my “tricks and non-sense” approach to work. Not a lot of solid reads on folks and TONS of aggression again. Writing this blog helps some for sure, but it would be nice if I had more than 3 premium hands in 2.5 hours and more than 2 pocket pairs. Maybe next time! Gargoyle’s is next Friday so wish me luck!

Sort:  

Congratulations @southcenter! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 20 posts. Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73