Six Plus Hold EmsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poker6 years ago (edited)

I played a new poker game today and I'm quite excited to share it with you. Six Plus Hold Em, also called short deck Hold em, is simply Texas Hold Em without any 2's, 3's, 4's or 5's. The remaining 36 card deck provides a lot of action.

IMG_3212.PNG
Source: pokerground.com

I enjoy a wide variety of poker games and have come to realize that Hold Em is quite boring compared to just about any other poker game. This new variation has fixed this problem. I've joked about playing Hold Em with a pinochle deck but this is a great compromise.

There are a couple of changes in the hand rankings since it's easier to make a straight and harder to make a flush. Three of a kind beats a straight and a flush beats a full house. Here is this new list of hand rankings thanks to pokerstrategy.com.

IMG_3214.JPG
Source: pokerstrategy.com

Atricky part to this game is a straight can still be made using the Ace as a low card. I flopped a straight with A8 for the first time in my life. It was also the first time my straight lost to three of a kind!

IMG_3213.JPG
Source: pokerlistings.com

Short Deck Hold em is a lot of fun and I hope to see it spread in more poker rooms. Regular Texas Hold Em is now referred to as Long Deck Hold Em, but I look forward when it's called Old Hold Em.

Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoy Six Plus Hold em.

Sort:  

That does sound more fun!

Way more fun!

This game looks awesome! It's just what hold'em needed.

Thanks for sharing this cool game!

Very interesting - I'd like to try this out. Thanks for sharing!

You should definitely try it out! It's a blast!

i never played poker , it is time to learn and play it :)

SPL is a great place to learn!

This is something great to know about thanks for sharing :) time to enjoy six plus hold

Never played that but seems very fascinating after seeing your post :)

Have you played any Poker games on the blockchain?

I haven't played on the blockchain yet but I intend to look into SPL one of these days.

What is that mean?

i never play this game

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75