You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ~1~ Reimagining Civilization: Self governing, decentralized, autonomous, collaborative, micro communities

in #politics6 years ago

Great food for thought! While I agree with a lot of what you've said, I'd like to add to it. It's my understanding that corruption/competition/greed happens when people operate in a scarcity mindset. Read The Soul of Money. In addition to The Soul of Money, NASA funded a study of past civilizations and what eventually led to their downfall. Their conclusion is that, as the population grew, resources became stressed until the elite started hoarding more (from a place of scarcity) and leaving less for the lower classes. The class gap grew until eventually the society collapsed. The same story is told through Mayans, Chinese, Roman, Gupta Empires, Mesopotamian Empires, etc.

However, as a farmer, I'm overcome by the fact that the soil wants to provide, plants want to produce fruit...all we have to be is good stewards of the land and there's more than enough food to go around. For me, this is the foundation of my abundance philosophy. There's enough energy to go around (solar and wind and other creative ways), there's more than enough food to go around, there's more than enough money to go around, there's more than enough love. I think a majority of society's ailments can be solved by transitioning from a scarcity mindset ("I don't have enough time", "I don't have enough money", "I'm not loved enough") to an abundance mindset.

While I am creative a home and family unit that very much reflects your ideal society, I have a hard time working in groups. The few groups that I've worked in (work and school), I always find myself annoyed at members who don't pull their fair share. But maybe that's coming from a place of scarcity too :)

Thank you for your words, and I can't wait to read your follow-ups! Together I think we can really make a difference!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68775.79
ETH 3844.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66