You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should Imprisoned Drug Offenders Be Released Upon Legalization?

in #politics6 years ago

I always appreciate how earnestly you embrace a topic. You are voming at this from a healthier perspective than I am at the moment. I’m exacerbated with the rampant evil (i.e. deception) that taints every corner of the man-made world.

Immorality is insanity, quite literally. It is a denial of reality. This is extreme and bizarre, even if ubiquitous. Morality is reasonable and appropriate in all cases and only appears extreme by contrast to the ludicrous example set by immorality. This is why I say I do not look for extreme examples of morality - I don’t think morality is ever extreme. I think it is as mundane and sensible as using an umbrella to stay dry in the rain.

Whenever you ask me to recede into memory for some example, I find it very difficult. It feels like looking for some old piece of paperwork and I’m not sure of its location. I don’t know if I’ve ever closed the gap between me and someone else.

I agree that people are smart - if you can reach them. They are severely damaged and dysfunctional and your voice must cut through layers of scar tissue to be accurately heard. They’ve been manipulated, used, and abused since the very moment they were born. They’ve been brutalized and crippled. They are horrid, shambling mutations of their true self - myself included.

It is very difficult for them to overcome their hypnotized state if not motivated to do so before they enter into a conversation with me. I do not believe I have the power to instill the desire to wake up when they don’t even believe they are asleep.

In my experience, the people who hear truth most clearly are those with a natural proclivity to do so. It may just be inborn. They have ears to hear, so to speak. In a sense, we are always and only preaching to the chior - whatever our messaage. We are helping to improve, expedite and advance, but never to actually convert. The blind are blind, but the sighted can be granted more sight. This is what I’m noticing, but it’s just a theory.

Sort:  

I understand. Yeah, you're right, morality isn't extreme, it can't be by nature.

I want to answer you in the spirit of Zen:

A great festival was to be held in a village and each villager was asked to contribute by pouring a bottle of wine into a giant barrel. One of the villagers had this thought: "If I pour a bottle of water in that giant barrel, no one will notice the difference." But it didn't occur to him that everyone else in the village might have the same thought. When the banquet began and the barrel was tapped, what came out was pure water.

source: http://info.stiltij.nl/publiek/meditatie/studie/zenstories.pdf

It's maybe worth your time to look for the old piece of paperwork and to succeed in only one time to overcome the distance as it would be not your loss.

Great story! I am very aware that your council is wise, I am just having trouble right now because I am very resentful over the unrelenting aggression against innocents present absolutely everywhere, from the highest levels of government and beyond, to the most seemingly benign familial relationships.

Coercion, control, manipulation, false obligations, deception, denial - all day long, everywhere you look. A pile of beauty, love, truth, authenticity, peace, and happiness sits on the table in the middle of the room, while everyone clamors and claws at each other all around it, starving, writhing, wailing, and fighting over illusions.

I have often tried to reach for the table - and continue to try - but I grow weak and tired at times, and find myself increasingly inclined to beat them off of me instead of just trying to avoid their aggression and helping them to overcome their desperate grasping.

In any case, I do not wish to monopolize your time. Thank you for your insight and care. Enjoy your evening.

:) maybe I monopolized your time.

... oh ... thank you! That is kind of you.
I hug you, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61195.86
ETH 3009.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80