You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ~1~ Reimagining Civilization: Self governing, decentralized, autonomous, collaborative, micro communities

in #politics6 years ago

Thank you for writing this! I enjoyed reading the text and found myself nodding in agreement over most of the ideas.

Since my teen years I've had this...feeling that people would live better in a stateless society, a band / clan/ tribe society with deep and strong connections, without all that competition, more cooperation, more self-reinforcing bonds.

As a matter of fact, our local populations lived that way for thousands of years. Most of the Thrace tribes in our lands in the period 1000-500 BC lived without any central governance and even at the height of the Thracian kingdom, it was more of a federation of tribes, not the centralized empire we see 500 years later in Roman times.

Even during the 200 year rule of the Byzantines and 500 year Ottoman rule the main social pattern remained almost intact. People here were grouped in an almost independent villages, usually started by a family - a clan of extended families, a kin.

We're currently working in that direction. Re-creating the social structure that was dismantled in the last 100-200 years with the industrial revolution which lead to the centralization of power to previously unthinkable levels.

Sorry that I cannot write at length, it's 2am here and that's been typed on my phone. Will try to follow up tomorrow!

Sort:  

Thanks so much for the reply. I’m glad to have another person here on the same wavelength. I’m trying to compile as many historical examples of people that functioned well and peaceably without succumbing to statehood and empire. I appreciate your example here, and if you’re up for it I would love to chat in more detail on Discord. I think the Roman Empire snuffed out most of these examples and that all of our modern day empires are just extensions of Rome. This is almost a 3,000 year struggle, it’s deep.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68789.22
ETH 3862.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66