The Voluntary Exchange Podcast: Double Down in Afghanistan & The Forgotten Horror in YemensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

image.jpg

First, let me apologize in advance for the recording of this episode. I am a little run down at the moment, so if I sound I bit out of it, it's because I am.

In the episode, I go over my thoughts on Trump's speech Monday on what his general told him his policy is going to be in Afghanistan. I break down the speech as I did in an earlier post this week. This was not the only esclation this week, as John "I love Nazis" McCain applauded "Mad Dog" Mattis's promise to arm the government of Ukraine. I also hit on a few other stories, before updating you on the tragedy that continues to unfold in Yemen.

This week's topics include:

Episode link here.

The full archive of the show can be found here.

I also want to take this time to point my followers over to a contest being held by @evehuman. It is a contest that is attempting to help create a true anti-war, peace movement here on Steemit. I know not everyone here is political, but if you are following me, you have to at least have an interest. I believe that this community leans towards liberty/freedom, this being the nature of cryptocurrency.

The contest is explained in this post you can find on that feed. I also resteemed it earlier today.

The contest goes like this:

So the challenge for you, dear steemians today, is to write a well-researched article about mass-media war-propaganda either in general or in a particular case history.

Please, leave the url to your article in the comments below.
All relevant articles will be read, upvoted and resteemed by me, and the one I like best will receive the 10 Steem I promised, but only after at least 15 steemians have posted a relevant article and linked it to this post.
Off-topic articles and spam will of course not be included in the competition.
I will most particularly take those participants most particularly into consideration who have also read, commented on, upvoted and then resteemed the relevant and well-written articles of their fellow participants in the challenge.

I will be participating, and I hope others will as well.

Image source

Donate Litecoin (Bitcoin fees are out of control!)

LTC Wallet - Exodus.png
LZnStChEKYJXck3euknfXSUTMrMSnoGcDj

Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / WordPress / Patreon

Sort:  

I agree fully with you. The Trump speech was pure propaganda and it is just so sickening when he portrays the military as the knights in shining armor the beautiful family, while at the same time the wars expanded and one the poorest countries in the world is bombed and starved out with the American Air Force fueling the Saudi bomber-jets in midair.
But even so the Saudis aren't winning and together with the Saudis America is losing, in Yemen and Syria, and in Afghanistan as well, increasing the troops won't help.
But I'm still sad that Trump didn't keep any of his promises, not even trying to get along with Russia.
But there is one thing:
You said the war-mongers don't get any resistance.
Actually from Europe there is some blow-back. After Trump's government decided on sanctions against German companies doing business with Russia Europeans are finally pulling away from the American war policy.
Maybe it's the first sign of a decentralization.
I hope you have recovered from your cold, oh and thanks for promoting the challenge.

I'm much better now. This Friday's episode should flow better.

I'm looking forward to it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77