You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Argumentum Mad Maximus

in #politics8 years ago (edited)

They love to fearmonger, but of course it's because they're afraid themselves. They've been told to be afraid their entire lives - be afraid of authority, and be afraid of the lack of it.

I remember once I was having a spirited discussion and a statist said that I should have to answer for the crimes of Hitler, Stalin and Pol Pot, because I was advocating such an extreme position, and that is the destruction and genocide that people want to cause when left to their own devices. I said hang on, all of those situations arose because there was a state, not because there was a stateless society, and if he was defending the state, shouldn't he really have to answer to them?

Argumentum Mad Maximum... Great name for a logical fallacy and it makes a great title too. Resteemed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68504.89
ETH 3816.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51