You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does America respect freedom of speech only when it is what everyone else says?

in #politics6 years ago

What's scary is that prominent progressives in the US have just declared that they oppose free speech, they now claim that free speech is racist, sexist and anti-gay. Just look at how closely first amendment cases have been decided recently. It's never good historically when the leftists succeed at silencing people.

Sort:  

No you got that wrong. They support free speech specifically so they can hold the "bad people" accountable for bad speech.

The interesting thing is, I actually agree with progressives in principal. I'm not anti-gay, and I'm not purposefully sexist. I don't even believe in the scientific validity of race.

But that doesn't mean something I say cannot be twisted out of context to make it look like I'm racist, sexist, anti-gay, etc.

I wish I was wrong, read the article I linked to, they declared that you cannot be a progressive and support free speech.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83