You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The White Male Wins - Again

in #politics6 years ago

I think this is a very good post and eloquently put.

I would however not fully agree on the fact that men being victim of false allegations of sexual misconduct is a myth.

While I strongly support the emerging movement of exposing sexual predators in position of power, or more commonly inappropriate behavior towards women, I also believe that the world is repeating once again a common mistake: jumping from one extreme to the other.

In a world dominated by trial through social networks everybody can fall victim to misguided campaigns of false accusations and no court of law can fully restore one's reputation lost through public judgement.

As users of the blockchain technology, we - Steemians - hold responsibility for not participating into engaging into unproven accusations. What is in the blockchain cannot be removed and there is a definitive risk that one's life may be wrongfully forever damaged by what could be said here.

Everybody should be able to enjoy the rights to presumption of innocence. Unfortunately it is becoming more and more common to see people fighting hard to prove this innocence.
One can think as the Cliff Richard's case as an example.

But I do agree that the Brett Kavanaugh's case brings further shame to the US as it throws enough doubt into the suitability of this individual for such an important function.

Sort:  

I would however not fully agree on the fact that men being victim of false allegations of sexual misconduct is a myth.

This is the reason why I chose my words carefully - I said explicitly:

Apparently the myth of the poor, falsely accused man is in most cases exactly that - a myth

Take note: most cases.


In a world dominated by trial through social networks everybody can fall victim to misguided campaigns of false accusations and no court of law can fully restore one's reputation lost through public judgement.

I see the problem. This is why I tried to explain why, at least in this case, it's highly unlikely that it was an orchestrated assault.
Of course, these things can happen. This is bad - I absolutely agree. But we shouldn't lose focus here:
How often does it really happen - especially when compared to the vast amount of unpunished sexual assaults?
I would argue more strongly to refrain from publicly shaming people based on wrong accusations - if that would happen more frequently. But as far as I know it simply doesn't.


Everybody should be able to enjoy the rights to presumption of innocence. Unfortunately it is becoming more and more common to see people fighting hard to prove this innocence.

Of course, this is obvious. But it's relatively irrelevant when it comes to Kavanaugh. I explained in detail, why this concept doesn't apply for this case.
Maybe it was my mistake not making it clear enough that my arguments refer mostly to this special case - not so much to everybody else.

Don't get me wrong, I do agree with most of your post.
The question of whether or not the myth of the poor falsely accused men is mostly true or not is not my main point though.
There is definitely a cultural shift going on with regard to the mistreatment of women which I think is a good thing.
But as I said we all have to be careful that these changes don't come about at the cost of widespread false accusations (I'm not referring to the Kavannaugh's case here) and extreme viewpoints.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63924.41
ETH 3120.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88