Europe's Anti-Russian Psy-Ops Network

in #politics5 years ago (edited)

Recently published documents have shed light on a huge U.K.-led psyop to allegedly counter Russian propaganda and create a European "large-scale information secret service" to do it. The leaked documented were thought to be by the hacking group Anonymous, but they recently denied the "Anonymous" claim via one of their Twitter account. Who really leaked the documents is not certain.


Source, Source

The November 5 document dump exposed this European PR network called Integrity Initiative (II). It's a U.K.-based organization which was set up in 2015 by the Institute for Statecraft which is affiliated with the NATO HQ Public Diplomacy Division and the Home Office-funded 'Prevent' program. The stated objective of II is "to provide a coordinated Western response to Russian disinformation and other elements of hybrid warfare."

They claim to fight disinformation that threats democracy, and have admitted to receiving 2 years of funding from the British Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO). The authenticity of the document's haven't been confirmed, but II said it's "clear that much of the material was indeed on the Integrity Initiative or Institute systems".


Source

Expressing outrage over the hack and leak of documents, II did put the blame on it's target, Russia, implying the Russian intelligence community must be behind it. The documents describe the "semi-secretive operation to coordinate efforts by seemingly independent journalists, academics and experts" in countering Russian propaganda.

The latest year of operation cost about $2.5 million to form "clusters" of "local politicians, journalists, military personnel, scientists and academics" in *"Spain, France, Germany, Italy, Greece, the Netherlands, Lithuania, Norway, Serbia, and Montenegro" who are dedicated to publishing how Russia interferes with European affairs. They then influence leadership behind the scenes. They are doing the same thing they claim Russia is doing, with stated aims are about "changing attitudes in Russia itself":

"... our project will continue its successful building of a network of networks across Europe, organising local teams to counter Russian influence and disinformation in their own societies, including within Russian-speaking communities, and changing attitudes in Russia itself."

II plans on expanding the network and influence throughout the world to the the US, Canada, Eastern Europe, the Middle East and North Africa region. They've received funding from NATO and the U.S.State Department so far, with £168,000 and £250,000 respectively. Security analyst Charles Shoebridge says the *"cover operation" makes the publications appear as "genuine popular feelings":

"What we’ve got here is a hidden influence. Actually, these are not genuine opinions, or if they are genuine opinions, they are being pushed and given prominence because they are backed including by funding from organizations such as the UK government."

The clusters of "agents" may not be paid, but this is an ideologically driven hidden campaign to manipulate public opinion. NATO is well known for it's history of using the "soft power" weapon of "merging psychological operations, propaganda and public affairs" to "influencing a target population’s state of mind and surreptitiously shaping people’s perceptions". It just makes sense that they would help fund this new so-called "Integrity Initiative".


References:


Thank you for your time and attention. Peace.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider: Upvoting, Sharing or Reblogging below.
Follow me for more content to come!


My goal is to share knowledge, truth and moral understanding in order to help change the world for the better. If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page.

Sort:  

Can't help but smile at the accusations of foreign propaganda given how often they lie daily to us, paying for disinformation via a network. I have heard for quite some time of paid government trolls attacking blogs and social media posts that they disliked, witnessing some myself on the VOP front. But this is the first outright documentation I have seen.

Hey, I wanted to say I really appreciate the delegation you have been giving me. However based on the needless drama that seems to intensify here that grows larger by the day, and your name was thrown out there earlier I think you should have it back. I don't post much anymore and don't see myself posting much for some time. I have also noticed that with the drastic fall of Steem I am still bordering on dust and once it hits that point (as I believe it will) I would no longer be able to vote comments anyway as it would be throwing the vote away.

As I said a few weeks ago, I am focusing on writing for self publishing again. There is much less drama there and it pays, lol.

Yes, all a big show, hypocrisy all around. People organize to forward their agenda.

You're welcome. Not sure I know what you mean. But just vote on posts then. Good luck on your other ventures I hope it works out well :) How does self-publishing pay? From putting it on Amazon?

You're welcome. Not sure I know what you mean.

Go to Steemworld and look under mentions and you will understand. It will help you more than I if it comes to what was said, and with all this bickering going on that is spilling onto so many innocents seems an omen for me to focus more on self publishing as I have been pulled to get back to where the censorship and loss of income isn't a thing. Seriously seems as though some would prefer most not even post here, maybe so they could get more of the pool to themselves, I don't know.

Amazon is one of the avenues, although I still have work published on many other stores such as Nook, Apple, Kobo etc. My residuals have died down a lot as it has been about two years since I hit the publish button, but when i was churning it out I got up over 2k a month.

I have a different vision this time around. I have seen so much this year of true gifting, real anarchy of self by so many that I wan't to take all that I have learned over the years from business and writing and put it to use in a gifting way that will be beneficial to not only myself, but others who do important work. I will be starting off with 2 newsletters that will be compiled into books as they accumulate enough issues to justify it. One on VOP/Family Protection and the other on Steem/Steemit. I will forgo many of the bookstores while it is in newsletter form and then hit the major online stores with them once each has accumulated about 50k words. Should be about 2 months to the 50k mark on each, depending on how I feel after work and how well the newsletters do.

I see. Well it looks like you have a good plan ahead of you. $2,000 per month on those sites? Wow. You should write a course on how to do it :) I'd like to know how it's done hehe ;) What did you write about?

I have thought about writing a course on it, and began posting here but there wasn't enough interest so I wrote about things that interested me instead.

I began by writing self help books, then switched to erotica as there was a lot of money in that. I had to quit though as I got burnt out writing what felt like the same book again and again, lol.

Highly rEsteemed!

Screen Shot 2018-05-23 at 3.32.02 PM.png

Thanks ;) Neat little graphic that sums up a part of psychological operations ;)

I dont like either side, Russians push psy-ops on their citizens, Europe does so on theirs, and So does the US... everybody is trying to push a narrative and most of the time it has nothing to do with the truth.

Curated for #informationwar (by @commonlaw)

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation and other false narratives. We currently have over 8,000 Steem Power and 20+ people following the curation trail to support our mission.

  • Join our discord and chat with 200+ fellow Informationwar Activists.

  • Join our brand new reddit! and start sharing your Steemit posts directly to The_IW!

  • Connect with fellow Informationwar writers in our Roll Call! InformationWar - Contributing Writers/Supporters: Roll Call Pt 11

Ways you can help the @informationwar

  • Upvote this comment.
  • Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP
  • Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59071.36
ETH 3001.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66