Solidarity

in #politics5 years ago

IMAG0604.jpg

I went busking on Friday morning. What I didn't know was that there was a #climatestrike demo in the High Street. So every half an hour, local schoolchildren marched up and down the street chanting their stuff.

I have much identification with them. When I was a young schoolkid the horror scenario was that we would shortly be vaporised by nuclear weapons either from the Soviet Union or from our "friends" in the USA. I marched, sang, made friends, learned about organising and learned a lot about what makes people tick. Since then we found out a lot more about our "enemies" and though still don't have significant nuclear disarmament, but we're somehow less afraid of it since the Soviet bloc collapsed.

This feels like this generation's thing. I don't know what's going to happen. I'm worried about climate change, and I'm worried that we're being manipulated and lied to too.

So I was happy to cease my warbling and join the chanting in solidarity, sometimes we need to stand together strong, no matter what.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94