Wake Up and Look Beyond The Hype

in #politics6 years ago

Theresa-902966.jpg
(Image source: www.express.co.uk)

Just a quick post for today my Steemian friends. I couldn't resist shining a light on this blatant piece of Tory spin and propaganda!

Theresa May has announced her war on plastic, but please do not be fooled. China has just declared it's doors closed to further intakes of plastic waste. Prior to this, UK businesses were shipping 27 million tons of waste plastic to be handled by the Chinese.

May's new policies are being lauded by the press as some sort of triumphant environmental protection policy, designed to show the floundering party in a good light, rather than having no choice but to urgently deal with a problem they can no longer ship abroad.

Just follow the link below to see, yet another example of biased reporting. There is no mention of China's announcement, just hypnotic rhetoric designed to make us think that our leaders actually care about the environment.

https://www.express.co.uk/news/politics/902966/theresa-may-plastic-supermarkets-environment

Just who buys into this nonsense? Still, I suppose, it takes our minds off the state of the NHS, police force, welfare and countless other government social policy incompetencies for a brief moment in time.

I'm not saying that plastic waste isn't an important issue, of course it is, it has been for a long time. I'm just saying, don't be fooled into thinking that the powers that be have suddenly started caring, they are merely turning a lack of options into a political advantage.

Thank you for reading and, as always, 'Question Everything!'

2018-01-11_07.09.34.jpg

(But Only If You Want To)

Sort:  

Gotta love the circus acts the government put on for us eh? Pretending it's about caring for the environment as opposed to being forced to change is just silliness really .

Quite. It's insulting our intelligence, scary thing is, most people buy into it.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

What a wonderful write up @looksfarwoman. @davemccoy suggested I get into contact with you about the Steemit Newbie Resteem Initiative that he and I started. He suggested that you would have some great ideas and approaches towards the project and I'd love to hear them. I came up with the idea in hopes of creating an ecosystem on the platform where supporting new users and contributing to the platform for the sake of the platform become normal behaviors in the same way pressing up vote or post is. Any creative ideas, input or effort you can bring to this would be valued. I'm eager to hear from you so please feel free to get into contact with me at any point and I'll message back as soon as I hear from you.

Hi, yes @ davemccoy has filled me in. I'm going to read through the posts properly, later today. I think it's an awesome idea and I'll do anything I can to help. TBH, if it hadn't been for him, I think I'd have given up in frustration, so it'd be great to repay that and help any newbies who have potential, but could be struggling. Thank you @mudcat36

I'm missing you... I hope you didn't get too sick... or worse I hope you didn't decide to leave :( ... (you don't see that smiley from me very often, so please say it ain't so) ...

Hope you are doing ok, just missing talking to you in the last 3 days.

Sorry hunny. I've been poorly, but on the mend, so you'll see me popping back up again over the next few days. I've a really busy weekend coming up, so I'll do my best, but failing that, Monday will be all systems go again. Definitely not leaving....I have way to much fun and I'd miss my favourite Steemit friend. 😘

I just wanted you to know that you are missed!!! And being thought of!

Wheres my sister at? Hope you are on your feet again soon you are being missed.

i like the note at the bottom. i want to

You have been resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday ... I made today my #newbieresteemday, and invite you and others to do the same. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

LOL. Thank you very much. I'm helping out on the #newbieresteemday initiative. @davemccoy is an amazing member of this community and I fully support this. I've been on the lookout for well written posts to link onto it and newbies who are struggling. It's great we can all pull together like this.

exactly. we all can do different things but this we have in common =)

nice post.
i am motivated the more after going through this post.

i am a newbie on steemit.

i have upvoted and followed you

please support me by doing same as well

thanks

Agreed, look beyond the hype.

Congratulations @looksfarwoman! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @looksfarwoman! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73