I'm German & my government doesn't allow me to leave the city without permissionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #politics6 years ago

Everybody around the world knows about Trump's travel ban but did you know that Millions of German citizens aren't allowed to travel also? Like me, for instance. I can't even leave the city without permission. Why is that?

Thanks for the education

There's a lot to be grateful for, living in Germany 2018. Having insurance, health care, welfare, an incredible infrastructure … however I am not fully capable of using all my rights in this seemingly pleasing enviroment. Using steemit & discord I got invited to quite some international meetings the last months. Last time was just yesterday when someone on discord asked me and others to come to Amsterdam in three months to meet up. I'd love to but I can't. I am allowed to leave Berlin for 21 days every year. Not one day more. Having family & friends at another part of Germany I spend those few days with them. For the next 1½ years I won't be able to travel around and meet all of you inspiring folks.

It's because I decided to get back to college and study about audio & video editing. I am blessed being born in a country that pays for your education. If you are a German tax payer: THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR PAYING FOR MY DREAM. No doubt I am grateful for it because it helps me achieving my desire of traveling around the world with a camera. Since that's my outlook I am kind of alright with the whole system for I know I'm gonna meet y'all in about two years.

give & receive vs. take & obey

The concept of giving back is more than fine with me. I understand it as a universal law and am willing to give & receive every day. However, when it comes to the situation of depending on German welfare, it more feels like take & obey. Take this education and obey to our ludicrous rules. 21 days a year, I am allowed to leave the city. Not one day more. There's no logical reason for that. They say it's because for as long as you depend on the welfare system you have to be available for job offers (or in my case for my college). I have always been and will ever be open to job offers however I don't need to be in Berlin for taking offers and I could come back immidiately from whereever I am. Even though I have almost 50 days of vacations every year I am not fully allowed to use those free days.

This is why it feels more like obeying without further sense to it. And being in Germany 2018 it feels like we should have overcome this idea of ruling over people a long, long time ago.

You're all welcome to visit me in Berlin the next 1½. After that I'll be traveling around the world on board of a ship for half a year. And this is when I'm gonna visit y'all to take part in your inspiring lifes. Can't wait. Thanks Steemit for making my life awesome.

elephant.jpg

Sort:  

I love your attitude! I would be okay with that exchange, free education for minimal vacation days. As long as I could visit with my friends across the world in other ways. So excited for you to get on that boat and travel! Great article :)

thanks, dear. It maybe alright with me but it's not fair in any way. And there are other people who have to depend on this welfare forever because of sickness or else. And they'll never be able to travel freely.

Stay patient. 1 1/2 will fly by. And it is messed up. When it comes to the big government issuing rules they never leave room for common sense.

Cody! Great to see you on Steemit! And on video! :D Followed!

@Mayb I will be rooting for you to achieve your dreams of traveling the world, and hopefully you may make a living with your passion <3 Wouldn't it be a wonderful world if we all could do that? Much success with your studies!

nothing can stop me … aside from this travel ban, of course. :)
Thanks! <3

thath is the point about general basic income -> the institution that distributers the wealth has a lot of power.

Berlin is a hard place to find good work. dont you work because of political reasons? Did they just tightened the wealth regime.

I stopped working because of politics, yes. Now I'm kind of on a break to deepen my knowledge and then we're gonna smash everything that keeps us from working. :)

@mayb ooooh.. thats so much strictness. now a days security is the main issue every where around the world.. i lives in the beautiful Pakistan here now a days when you go somewhere you must be having your id card with your and if you are no 18 yet then you must have your student card with you but are allow to live in every part of our country for as long as we want.

What law/rule are you exactly talking about? I have never heard of such a thing.

it's § 7 Abs. 4a SGB II (Book of social laws).

Wow, your city's government must be very comfortable setting up a rule like that.

It'll be cool to host you in your journey though!

it's not my city. It's the German government. This rule is for every German depending on welfare. Which is a total of around 6 Mio people.

Ahhhhh, ok gotcha. It's like trading your soul with a shitty landlord!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62829.19
ETH 3026.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61