My Voting Experience

in #politics6 years ago

I've been quiescent for a few days, but that quiescence doesn't mean inactive. It's been a busy few days. It's time for my fall pilgrimage to Mexico so a lot of time was spent getting ready to be out of Indiana for about 4 weeks. Somehow, as busy as I was, I still ended up leaving some things I need in Mexico back in Indiana.

Part of my time was spent voting. I had decided to early vote, despite my objection to the use of it, in order to save myself a little time. So Monday I drove to our polling place and was pleased to find few cars in the parking lot. Thinking this won't take very long I walked up to the entrance door to find a sign saying there was no early voting that day. No early voting for me on Monday.

Tuesday I got up and decided to vote late morning behind the crowd voting before work but ahead of the crowd that would vote at lunch. I arrived back at the polling place entering the door at 10:45 entering into what looked like a mob. Asking around I found the end of the line and after 30 minutes had finally made my way back to being part of the mob greeting people as they entered the door. Part of the problem was the turnout but also there were issues with the system verifying registration that slowed and sometimes stopped progress.

It was hard initially to understand the flow of the line waiting to vote but it eventually became clear. After getting away from the entrance the line formed down a hallway, which I felt was more like a cave. I kept expecting people to start running out as claustrophobia sat in, I know I was about to at times.

After the cave the line entered another area that was larger than the cave but still felt a bit underground, more like an open cavern than the cave itself.

20181106_123805_1541525885988[1].jpg

This picture is of the cavern, the cave was much smaller and seemed to be packed with more people. Yes, this is one line that circled to the back of the cavern and then up to the polling station.

Placing my vote I walked through each candidate one by one knowing that voting a straight ticket sometimes caused the voting machines to do funny things. In reviewing my ballot I found the voting machine had not registered several of my votes. This was easily fixed and I finally cast my vote. On my way out I chose not to complain to those running the election about the voting machine not accepting my ballot or theorizing the Russians were against some of those I voted for, I know that sometimes things just happen with computers. With my vote cast, I walked out of the polling place at 1:15, two and a half hours after arriving.

None of this is meant as a complaint against the voting process. Voting is a right that citizens of the U.S. enjoy and should be exercised by more of our citizen population. With that being said, I still don't understand why we can't vote online. I can access all my health and financial records online, making it possible for me to sit at home while managing my healthcare or transferring thousands of dollars even sometimes out of the country and never leave my desk. Surely there could be a way to securely establish an online voting system that has protections against voter fraud. It would probably be a pain to start with to meet requirements for being able to vote online and only a few percent of the voters may take advantage of it initially. It would, however, be a start that we could work from to improve over the course of several elections cycles. If we just sit back and wait for the perfect system to be implemented, it will never happen. Let's just get something started and go from there.

Sort:  

I supposed you posted from 'Mehico'

I still ended up leaving some things I need in Mexico back in Indiana.

Sorry about that. Happens to all

Sounds like a 'great' voting experience. And yes, online voting would have saved you lot of stress.

What do you think about the results?

The results, I think nothing will happen for the next two years. The Dems running the house will concentrate on investigations and impeachments which would go to trial in the Senate where it will die. The recent fall of Ginsberg accentuates her health issues which will push Dems to want to impeach Kavanaugh as well as Trump. Most bills started in either the House or the Senate will be rejected by the other branch.

If by chance both houses of Congresses agree on a bill, if it is perceived by President Trump as being too partisan, it will be vetoed and the votes in Congress won't be there to override the veto. The good thing is that I do not believe the Dems running the House will impact Trump's push to cut government regulations, which aides in the development of new business.

In Indiana, we got rid of our Democrat Senator and elected a Republican. In addition, Indiana passed an amendment to the state constitution clarifying the requirement for a balanced budget and forcing the state to fund pension plans now rather than leaving them for those paying taxes in the future. This will strengthen Indiana's bond ratings helping to further stabilize the economy here. It was a good day locally to me, I am sure there are those that would disagree.

Okay...

I wasn't surprised by the results though

I do agree that the democrats would try to give Trump a hard time and all. But then, it's the only thing they can do until they gave a chance to change things in the next election.

IMO, any attempt to impeach Trump would be a waste of time.

Welcome to Steem mikehamm! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Thank me for my lack of interest. This is where I wish I knew how or was able to block accounts from replying to my posts.

Haha

Welcome to Steem mikehamm

Welcome!!

Congratulations @mikehamm! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 60000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 65000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60870.66
ETH 2917.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62