You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It is difficult to free fools from the chains they revere

in #politics6 years ago (edited)

@haccolong, I am reading this post and I understand some of the Vietnamese words and some I don't understand very well. There are many responses in favor as well as against the topic. So you must have hit some nerves. You have created a conversation that I hope remain constructive.

For me, personally, I am glad that the war ended. I was born after the war and was one of the boat people who ended up in the USA in the early 1980s. The end of war brought closure - of course those on the losing side didn't like the outcome, but I am sure those on the winning side suffer much tragedy as well. We can debate whether someone was great or horrible for the country, but I think you would agree that we, as Vietnamese people, are better off than other countries who are still embroiled in conflict, like the Koreans right now. At least I can visit my homeland and talk to the love ones from over there. Folks in North Korea can't even do that to family members who are living in the South.

We may look back in 50 years and thought that the end of the War was the best thing that ever happened to the Vietnamese people. Our 2 million-plus people are scattered across the Earth in pursuit of other opportunities. They are bringing back to Vietnam the creative ideas and ingenuity found in the international communities that they settled in and applying them to the Vietnamese culture of hard-work and perseverance.

We are seeing the new Vietnam accomplish so many things. That is, the people who love the country, yourself included, are returning and trying to improve what Mother Earth has given us to call the Mother Land. We are bringing back old and new ideas. I am sure we will see the explosion of new ideas coming out of Vietnam in the coming year than we have ever seen anywhere else. And that Vietnam will be great!

Sort:  

Hello @nuoctuong
Thank you for coming here
I can understand your reply is a confidence.
And I want to say with you that I hope that war does not happen.
If the war does not happen, our country will probably be like South Korea and North Korea now. But like that, I still feel better than it happened. The lives of many people and the whole nation go the communist path instead of only half is a price too high.
If you care about the state of the country and find out the current situation. You will find that have good things are in Vietnam, but it comes with the rules of development rather than are impacted by humans. The rest, you will see a more black picture: human rights, the environment, security, sovereignty, culture etc. etc. are almost not beautiful.
Of course, I know there are many people, many organizations are doing everything to make VN better, more nice. For me, I write this article to influence the thinking of Vietnamese people in the country, improving thinking is the way I choose. Hopefully I can do something albeit small.

The War happened. We can't really do anything about it anymore. I guess it's our job now is to make a better place for all of our children and our children's children, right?

I am glad you're providing a discussion point. :)

You are great
the necessity is to act for future generations.
Each person will have a different way to do it.
Technology and the internet have made many countries change, I think it will also make Vietnam change. Especially public awareness.
I am interested in a paragraph by Tan Da. Please do not translate it.

Cũng bởi thằng dân ngu quá lợn. Cho nên quân nó dễ làm quan.

Thus, changing people's perceptions is something I and many have chosen. And you @nuoctuong, what was you choose?

I do what I can on my part.
I try to teach my children the same. We did this fund raising activity for Christmas of this year to help raise funds for the unfortunate orphans affected by the War: https://www.facebook.com/phongbui/videos/10155970091803383/
(It's a facebook post, I hope it's okay).

This was great, I watched the video and the comments. I see the photos, maybe some of the victims of the diseases, not of war. But that does not matter, all are pitifully the same.
I hope you will succeed, and the problem with Mr.. Mark. Truth, I started to dislike him.

The diseases are highly correlated to the materials left after the war, mainly agent orange. The children, whose life expectancy are often short, are inflicted with neurological and physical deformities linked to that chemical. At some point, the United States military/government has to be held accountable. They haven't admitted it and therefore haven't put money into retribution for anyone. I am not holding my breathe that any politician will do so...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63721.15
ETH 3305.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91