You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Judge rules Trump can’t block people, what does this mean for twitter going forward?

in #politics6 years ago

Since I live in Canada, I have to be aware that there are laws limiting speech in very specific ways, and that their effect is to 'damp' speech around those subjects in a lot of vague ways.

A similar thing happens in groups of people. One-on-one, people might explore dangerous, even offensive ideas. Add more people, and very soon, the only thing everyone can agree to talk about is that everyone agree.

Agreed?

Anyway, it kind of homogenizes twitter, facebook and most other platforms.

I wish 1a would mate with 2a and the result be a discussion tool (with optional protected anonymity) guaranteed to every citizen.

But I probably wouldn't like what I found written there :)

Sort:  

I very much agree with you. I do think the government needs to determine a clear framework for what constitutes a public discussion tool, so that lines on issues like these can become less blurry

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67685.77
ETH 3856.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69