Americas Suicide

in #politics6 years ago

I've been meaning to write another post as my first post but found this quote while reading The Hidden Enemy by Michael Youssef. I will work on trying to post more with a few things that have been running through my head, but Steemit is most definitely a hobby for me at this time.

This is a quote from Abraham Lincoln's Lyceum Address, I extracted it from here: http://www.abrahamlincolnonline.org/lincoln/speeches/lyceum.htm

Shall we expect some transatlantic military giant, to step the Ocean, and crush us at a blow? Never!--All the armies of Europe, Asia and Africa combined, with all the treasure of the earth (our own excepted) in their military chest; with a Buonaparte for a commander, could not by force, take a drink from the Ohio, or make a track on the Blue Ridge, in a trial of a thousand years.

At what point then is the approach of danger to be expected? I answer, if it ever reach us, it must spring up amongst us. It cannot come from abroad. If destruction be our lot, we must ourselves be its author and finisher. As a nation of freemen, we must live through all time, or die by suicide.

This struck me as odd, and I re-read it a few times, thinking over it. Somewhere deep in my mind, pieces started clicking together like a puzzle, seeing ties with other things. First with the changing culture around me here in the U.S.A. Then (especially after a recent viewing of the movie adaptation) George Orwell's 1984. And a much larger picture started to appear.

Abraham Lincon, indirectly, but likely with a knowledge of human behavior, predicted what we are seeing today in America.

People turning away from their God granted rights, asking the government to take them and make their decisions for them. Handing more and more power to a government that was never meant to be so big. Rallying with their... Comrades... (I shudder using that term after reading 1984, what it was used to do...) and shouting down anyone who disagrees with them. And if there be a politician, or public figure, that wants to leave decisions to the smallest group possible, respecting the freedoms that are outlined in our Constitution and her amendments, they are immediately attacked with even the slightest hint of some form of scandal, anything to prevent them from taking public office.

On that note... We have come to a point where if we wish to return to the freedoms of the past, we must first put people into power, just to do so. And we are trusting their word that they will follow through and essentially cripple the position we are putting them in. That is horrific.

Back to President Lincon. One thing that hits home to me is the recent attacks on the electoral college. A system designed to prevent true democracy and the mob rule that comes with it. I've heard conversations that say that the popular vote should overrule the electoral college. Whoever wins 50% or more should win the election is what I hear the most. If that were the standard the public vote would not even have put Lincon in office as he only won ~40% of the popular vote. I think most people would not be comfortable with that uncertainty.

This is just one of many different things I see people fighting about in our modern political atmosphere, but so much of it is people essentially seeming to hate the foundation and founding values of this great nation. Which if they continue to push, and especially if that idea continues to spread. America will quickly fall from within and the country collapses into the second civil war, and likely the suicide of the greatest nation. Could she recover from there? Possibly, but with so many foregin adversaries on their haunches ready to pounce, I doubt it. I shudder that that day may stand in my future.

These are just my thoughts, if you have any, please feel free to share.

Have a great day. And God bless.

Sort:  

Upvoted and resteemed. Keen thinking and good writing!

Thank you!

I was surprised how well this post has been received. I may try and write on this topic more!

I hope your followers enjoy it as well.

Keep thinking and writing along this line. There is much good to be gained from attending to the ideals articulated in the United States Constitution and the Bible.

I hope to find so much more info through reading like this. My list of books to read grows steadily.

They always knew the danger of big government back then. There was a lot published on the risk of government intrusion on freedom!

Nice post, resteemed!

:)

I have begun reading more of their speeches and writings and its scary how much of what is happeing today is forseen and they tried to prevent. Only to not expect the people to hand their rights back to the goverment like some people want I imgaine.

They knew people would become complacent, and gave us the tools to recover our Republic. Sadly we will soon be at the point that this Nation will not survive liberal policies.

I am worried that there will be blood in the streets, started by liberals to gain political advantages. I expect antifa will be the source of the start of this violence.

It would be wise to be living in the country when this SHTF happens! We are warned in the Bible to flee the cities, in the end times!

:)

If a war is started by the left (not necessarily liberals, I have met many who are as disgusted by the left and current democratic party as I am) it is in very bad foresight. As they are the ones who have said that the police can do the fighting for them, the rednecks and hillbillies and 2A supporters of all types are the ones who have an advantage in a civil war.

And if they think the military will step in and save them, first they have to give the order to fight civilians, second, they assume no one would desert and take as many resources as they can to support the patriots. Most military members I know will not stand for such an order and will turn their teams and resources agints the goverment very quickly if that were to ensue.

I believe if a civil war is started, it will be started by the liberals. I base this one just a few things: first the liberals have shown that they use violence as a political tool, then they think they have the right to force others to do as they say, and lastly, they think they can pick up a firearm and bullets, and be a force (without practice)

Also Historically, of the last hundred mass shootings; the entire list is populated by liberals! They are also, sadly, violent on command! This almost assures that they will start it.

I will guarantee that once begun, the media will report that the Conservatives were at fault! Some things are easy to predict, and they have blamed Conservatives after every shooting; and NEVER print a retraction when proven wrong!

>:(

Who starts it does not worry me. As who has the weapons as dictated by the 2A are those who can truly fight. And I think based off of that we know who will win in the long run. The world may not bode well during such a conflict though.

The World worries me more than the liberals! The liberals would be swept aside easily, they have no backbone, nor training; so that would be a short flight. BUT the UN would send in troops as fast as they could; and then the war would really begin in earnest! It would take time, and be violent!

So practice on Blue helmets at the range!

:)

I've heard that from people. And every time I do I laugh. Because think about where the majority of the UN peacekeeping forces come from? The good ole USA. So there wouldn't be much coming over here XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60695.64
ETH 2900.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53