Steemit For Liberty: What Political Party Should Libertarians Join?

in #politics6 years ago

Big question I hear often, what political party should libertarians join?

Short Answer: That is complicated

Real Answer: Whichever you feel is best

My Answer: It doesn't matter

Political parties are two things, they are social clubs and they are political tools. As a libertarian, you should seek to go everyone and in every circumstance, use the tools and opportunities at your disposal to not only limit and diminish the size of the state, but to also spread the message of freedom. I've been a Libertarian, an Independent, and I'm currently a pretty active Republican. I have friends everywhere, even in the Green Party. If libertarians were gung-ho and embedded everywhere, we'd be done, we wouldn't have to worry about all this.

So don't waste time fighting amongst other libertarians trying to have a testosterone filled death match defending parties that don't like or care about you. Do you think the Libertarian Party cares about you? They don't or else they'd do something smart by now like dedicate all their resources towards Larry Sharpe in New York or Kevin McCormick in Arizona. You think I think the Republican Party cares about me? No, but I'm not here to change a party, I'm here to change the culture around me.

So please, don't ever ask this question again because the premise itself is a waste of time.

Want to opt out of the Federal monster's fake money? Set up your Coinbase account here 

This is a Steemit exclusive blog, but don't forget to check out my website at www.rwmartinez.com

Check out Remso on Gab, Minds, Facebook, or Twitter. Don't forget to go see more at his website today.

Sort:  

I tend to think it’s a matter of organizing. It really doesn’t matter if you have no intention of being involved in the parties. Voting isn’t impacted, except primary voting, so if that’s all you’ll do, register where the primary helps (probably GOP for libertarians).

If you plan on actually being involved, go with where you can either shift the party platform to your ideas on select issues, or go to where there’s already a platform you support and think you can materially help.

(Editorial comment by Ford).

agreed, I said that if Joe Biden ran in 2016 I'd vote for him to try and stop Hillary.

Very nice writing, but I was writing articles for 11 months everyday and I didn't do well as well and i am not as much caring now about my service like caring about talented people who are joining steemit. Ithink now it's much better to do videos on dtube to have more feedback and better earning, that's why I've created a community where we do videos together. Would you like to participate in such video ? I am choosing the best creators to invite them to this. We also will share the earning from our rewards from dtube with participants.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69321.61
ETH 3682.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.29