You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Democracy Versus the Net - Summary Part 2, Chapter 2: Filter Bubbles and all that!

in #politics5 years ago

Good summary of this text although we've been here before.

This results in us filtering information so that we end up with echo chambers.

Googles semantic search is responsible for turning mild curiosity into rampant grievances.

About 6 years ago I challenged one of the authors of Googles semantic search algo as I felt it was unethical.

The general public had/have no clue how they are manipulated.

This was the moment that my confirmation bias that Google is evil was confirmed.

Cambridge Analytica took it down to the next level.

Granular grievances were exploited and swung the votes of people that don't vote usually as they feel unrepresented by all the main parties.

As the text points out. This granularity is infinitely exploitable.

U+R

Sort:  

Thats as as interesting as it is depressing!

It does seem Analytica has swayed elections. Brexit was a result of such manipulation too.

Problem is some people benefit from sowing Discord.

It's like Game of Thrones oddly enough!

Posted using Partiko Android

Life imitating art or art imitating life. It's all there in GOT. My wife is mad keen on GOT. To me it looks like a rehash of Shakespeare meets Lord of the Rings. Entertaining none the less.

It does seem Analytica has swayed elections. Brexit was a result of such manipulation too.

The same team advised Trumpo! and look what happened there.

Yes apparently they won it for Trump. People really have no idea.

I'm presently binge watching GOT it is enjoyable stuff. I'm also enjoying the disgusted fans petition to re-write the final series.

I'm going to set up my own petition demanding that anyone who signed that petition go get a life.

Haha,

anyone who signed that petition go get a life.

Yep the people are in a daze of bright lights and tinkling bells.

I'm going to binge watch GOT I just decided today in fact.

Got to keep up with popular culture 😭 and the wife!

I've been doing that all week.

I don't know about the Mother of Dragons, but I've had the Mother of all Binge-watches.

Haha I started to watch series two but kept getting interrupted!

I'll have to get a move on. It's going soon?

I watched it on a NOW TV subscription, a month to get through it, done, now cancelled.

Haha smart move. Don't think I'll get through it in the three remaining days until it's off?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57453.27
ETH 2928.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67