You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Went to a Trump Rally and Here's What Happened

in #politics5 years ago

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Sort:  

Many thanks! I'm quite glad to be a part of such an amazing community!

Not sure what "truth" you're referring to lol,
I can appreciate you're trying to be neutral if it's for journalistic integrity or something, but I don't need to go to one of his rallies to know what his policies are, and what he's done to USA in these 2 years, and what will probably happen in the remaining 2 years if he's free to do as he wants.
You're trying to not be political? Ok, fine, but I guess a lot of people said that in Germany 1937 as well.
Otherwise, good writing, interesting to get a better look inside one of these things.

The truth I was referring to was simply the inside look at the rally. I hear so much conflicting information about how violent the protesters are and how peaceful the attendees are. I hear that the crowd is full of hate or that the protesters are lining the streets with vulgarity. I've heard that people camp out in droves in order to get in. I've heard that people are turned away by the thousands outside because there simply isn't enough room for all the folks who want to attend. During the speech itself on Monday, Trump implied that there were "thousands of people outside," who had been unable to get in, yet the 'truth' was that there were fewer than 100 milling about.

I don't trust the media to accurately report what happens there. They are going to go with whichever story will get the biggest headlines and most reaction from their audience.

I don't trust the government (Trump included) to accurately report what happens either. They are going to say whatever makes them look the best in the eyes of their base, regardless of reality.

So I went to see it for myself. I certainly expected the 'truth' to include more than one token protester. :-)

Thanks for reading. I appreciate thoughtful comments like yours.

I appreciate getting a view from an uninvolved spectator, myself. Thank you for sharing. I realize that there is always so much hype about each thing, but I never know where the truth lies. I've heard very similar stories such as yours from friends who have done this same thing for the same reason across the country. It seems the "hype" and the angry mobs and all that are blown out of proportion by the media more than anything else. Not at all surprising, but there you have it.

I'm just glad there are platforms (like this one) that allow us to share the real stories of what's going on. Some countries are not as fortunate.

Absolutely! I couldn't agree more.

There is a huge range in the media, varying from largely factual to extremely biased. That's outside of the opinion pieces that are clearly marked as such in more reputable sources. The Media Bias Chart is one source of ratings, but there are others to cross check that against. I get most of my news from the least biased sources. I avoid right and left leaning sources unless I want to see the spin they are putting on stories so that I can better understand how people who in those camps think. We really need visible rating systems of sources and articles; otherwise, we are doomed as a democracy. We also need more Americans to actually spend time researching current issues from neutral sources.

Proud member of #steemitbloggers

I try to consume unbiased news as much as possible. I'm fortunate that I am well-versed in how to spot bias. I also try to keep up with the more biased sources. It's good to be able to see an issue from different perspectives. I often find myself amazed and wondering if people really believe some of the things they say.

A visible rating system may be helpful, but I think education on how to recognize bias would be more helpful. Otherwise, we'll still just end up taking someone's word for it regarding the degree of bias in reporting. And yes, if we could get folks to actually do research before forming and spouting an opinion that would be great!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57410.43
ETH 2916.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67