I voted.

in #politics5 years ago

I early-voted yesterday, at the last minute, with a whole bunch of other people. As usual, it was depressing, which is pretty much the last thing I need right now.

My usual rule is to only vote if there's someone or something on the ballot I can vote affirmatively for, rather than just to vote against people, and I did have one this year, my State Representative who I've been happy with.

I ended up voting straight DFL on the partisan races (we don't have regular Democrats here) and incumbents in the non-partisan races except for one uncontested race where I really did write in "Lizard People" due to lack of better options. I miss the days when the Republicans offered some level of reasonable choice and we had a third party worth thinking about. There was only one race at all that offered a real choice, State Auditor.

Which is not to say the DFL candidates were stellar, especially statewide. Tim Walz was the third-best Democrat running for governor and ended up on the ballot anyway. Keith Ellison would have been a great choice for head of the DNC, but I think he'll be terrible as Attorney General whether or not it's a steppingstone to Governor. Amy Klobuchar is terrible on internet issues and I've never been happy to have her as my Senator. But I voted for them anyway.

(And if you're a Minnesotan who hasn't voted yet, I would urge you also to vote for Ellison. Doug Wardlow used to be my State Rep, and he's that bad, really.)

Like I said, depressing. I don't know, maybe I should be happy that there's no Bolsonaro on my ballot, that the most reprehensible character is my incumbent US Rep, Jason Lewis, who is merely petty, stupid, avoidant, and mean. But I have a hard time getting to that.

I don't much like democracy in the form we practice it at the moment. We're promised a voice but then there's never anyone worth using it for.

There were goats, cropping the natural prairie section of the grounds at the Fire Safety Center where the early voting was held. I guess I'll take solace in the goats.

Inquisitive Goat.jpg
This is a different goat though.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Oh people are voting now you don't say. I refuse to go near another human being, watch any ads, get the mail, or answer the door. I think there a mob outside right now going house to house putting people on a bus to go vote!!!!

Politics down here are nuts. A few weeks back everyone got mailed a list with the names of all your neighbors and what years they voted and did not vote. Is your neighbor not voting? Go out and get them to vote by shaming them with this list!!!!! We know who did not vote and we will tell everyone in town. Crazy people....

I felt much the same - I voted for several democrats, but I wasn't happy about a single one of them. They're all just ...do nothings, whose redeeming quality is that they're not Nazis. Like, that's not good enough, but there was little else to vote for. I was disappointed there were few third party candidates at all, and all but one seemed totally incompetent or off their rockers. Like come on, Green party, you're more likely to win at the local level, but not a single candidate this time? Someone? Anyone? Beuller?
But I did care about several amendments and initiatives, so I'm happy to vote for those. Will be dropping my ballot off today.

i voted early because i had a flight out of the country. if you can ever vote early, i strongly recommend you do, it was a much nicer process.

Hi @tcpolymath!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.672 which ranks you at #1555 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 6 places in the last three days (old rank 1561).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 243 contributions, your post is ranked at #67.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11