George Bush Sr. Quizzed on Democracy [Favourites of the Gillos]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #politics6 years ago

Creepy Puppets & a Great Satire of American Imperialism



This clip is from the show "Spitting Image", a long running (very long running) show from Britain. I had never heard of it before seeing this video 8 or 9 years ago but it's a political satire puppet show that ran from 1984 to 1996! It was a big hit for broadcaster ITV and was a critical darling.

The UK should know something about imperialism, they had arguably the greatest empire in human history. If my timeline is right on this I saw this video while the USA was deciding between Obama and McCain. Bush Jr. was the President, and just like his daddy featured in the video, Dubbya was mucking around in the Middle East.

It's too bad Spitting Image wasn't around for the Junior Bush's terms (or Trump's for that matter). I really enjoy the style and attitude of these puppets, they convey a ton of emotion and make me smile.

For more reading on some of the topics mentioned in the video you can read these:

Elections in Kuwait (women were given the right to vote in 2005)

Freedom Status of Saudi Arabia (spoiler: they aren't very damn free)

"Today democracy is restored; Panama is free" - George H.W. Bush

A 1992 Documentary on the US Panama Invasion

 America is one of the world's largest oil producers, and close to 40 percent of U.S. oil needs are met at home. Most of the imports currently come from five countries: Canada, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Venezuela and Nigeria.  - source

Oh no! Canada is getting invaded next!

Join me, The Gillos, as I go through my list of YouTube favourites spanning 9 years of content curation. Enjoy! 

Sort:  

I think you might read some mentoring to make your content more appreciable, reach me on discord or steemitchat @samiwhyte

Any off the cuff quick tips?

using the right tags

I honestly thought I was, haha. Should I switch up the order?

like for video you can use #vlog instead

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75