An Open Letter to Mr. Donald J. Trump | Part 3

in #politics7 years ago

Pre-Writing Disclaimer: as the title indicates, this is a political post. It is intended marginally as satire, in the sense of the informal and disrespectful language, but also as a serious critique of the President of the United States in the content.

Mr. Trump,

Let me just start out by saying “Wow.” You’re still in office. I’m impressed. I really didn’t believe you’d make it through the last few weeks, but you’re still here in all your glory, calling terrorists “big losers.” I like it.

Although it’s extremely entertaining to watch, I’m (I believe quite justifiably) concerned by the latest in international relations. The Brits, our greatest allies, (no Donny, it’s not the Russians, never has been) have been forced to stop sharing intelligence with us due to leaks in your government. (I do think it’s fair to note that there was little intelligence in your government to begin with.) The Germans, too, have made moves to make themselves independent of us.

Today we have an opportunity to see more details into your white house, with James Comey testifying before the senate on private conversations he had with you. I’m sure you’re already acutely aware of this, though Sean Spicer will inevitably say he hasn’t discussed it with you. Comey is expected to detail occasions in which you demanded loyalty over truth, and where you asked him to sweep investigation into Mike Flynn under the rug.

You’re lucky. These conversations are going to be difficult to verify, meaning any charges leveled as a result of them will be hard to prove. In reality, you are approaching the end of this scandal, but it will continue to make noise for a few more weeks. After that, barring some sort of major break in the investigation into your campaign, it will lay dormant until the investigation is finished.

It’s been awhile since I last wrote, and I don’t think I have yet expressed my enthusiasm about the appointment of special prosecution in the case. I’ve read that it angered you deeply, but as I’ve said in the past, assuming your innocence, this course is the best option for you. With an independent and fair prosecution leading the case (which indeed Mueller is) there will be less of a question of the validity of the results.

I do hope he finds you innocent. I may have neglected to state that adequately. I like to think that the American public isn’t stupid enough to elect a puppet leader. The alternative of electing an idiot isn’t much better, but any silver lining would be nice in today's age of politics.

Until next time Donny,
@youngjae

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71