You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How conservatives convinced me to quit being a liberal

in #politics6 years ago

It would seem to me, after watching your video, that you are not upset with liberal ideology but rather liberal hypocrisy.

So, I think your real problem is not with the ideas of egalitarianism, but with political donations.

I know that seems like a weird jump in logic. But, politicians today claim one thing to get elected and then do whatever the donation class tells them. Mostly because we have legalized bribery over the last few decades as "donations" and "PAC money".

I would strongly suggest that you look into a few different organizations working to get money out of politics. There are a few different organizations that are working to do this:
www.wolf-pac.org - this is my favorite
movetoamend.org
inequalityforall.com
representus.us

There are many more. But those are the ones I personally follow.

The last thing I will say is that ideology that drives the body politic. And liberals, while far from perfect (as your video points out), still win in the marketplace of ideas. As equality and democratization are still far superior ideas.

So, please don't let the imperfect destroy the good or better. Just because your allies let you down doesn't mean what you are collectivly fighting for isn't still the correct thing to fight for.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63236.79
ETH 3280.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85