You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Poll: Soft Consensus?

in #poll5 years ago

Good question!

Personally, I think the terms "soft" and "smart" don't really describe anything. In fact, the term "soft" works against you from my perspective. Synonyms include mushy, weak, et al. Consensus and contracts are both supposed to be rigid and strong, even if flexibility is built into them, because they represent some kind of finished state that has been agreed upon so that it can be referenced later in case of disagreement or an error. They're associated with stability and guidance. Saying something is "soft" tells me that it's not really consensus or that it's contractual. It conveys "informal" to me. It screams weak.

The other word "smart", also doesn't tell me anything about the function of the contract or what "it's about". It's a buzzword that doesn't have any substance behind it. I think both of these adjectives confuse more than they clarify.

I'd choose something along the lines of "dynamic" or "adaptive".

  • Dynamic Consensus
  • Adaptive Consensus
  • Dynamic Contracts
  • Adaptive Contracts

Dynamic conveys a state that exists within a framework that can change when variables within that framework change. It says fast, calculated and decisive. Adaptive conveys flexibility, reactivity and strength.

Sort:  

I like it! Dynamic!

Yep, "Dynamic Consensus"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.52
ETH 2989.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71