Weaving Spells: the illusion of romance

in #portraitcontest6 years ago (edited)

503ae83f-ef84-428e-b919-64ab18f972fa.jpeg


I like what I see, the me, reflected by you. It is no way to live, this fickle self existing exclusively as mirrored through you. We can only be known backwards - keepers of our intertwining stories. Oh but isn't it fun - to have the illusion of being seen, the pretense of being known? We drink merrily, toasting to one another's warm regard of the other. Then the mirror tips askew - yours, or mine. Subtle manipulations ensue, corrective discourses. The nuances picked up. Mirrors righted. Another bottle opened.

I feel the uneasiness of being more a part of you than of myself fold in around me and turn away from the laps and loops we spin around each other. Spells cast to keep the image projected just so. Now you dance alone, and I sit - unreflected - waiting for you to stop, so that we can finally meet.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web

_______

All words and pictures are my own. Some of my content may have been previously published in one of more of the following locations:

Steemit words: @onethousandwords

Instagram | Facebook |EyeEm | Blog

You can also find me on LinkedIn

Sort:  

Its a great image but the text had me totally hooked! :)

Ah thank you. This is my favourite feedback. I love that the words get read here on Steemit ❤

Images worth thounsands of words. ;)

Thank you. That is very sweet.

Being reflected in someone else's gives the sense of doing something right in your life especially if you are reflected in a great way.

I think that is also true. What I am talking about here is when you lose a sense of yourself and exist only in the reflection of the other which I don't think is healthy.

I agree. It makes you question your self-worth and may lose a lot more of yourself.

Beautiful!!!

Thank! She is a gorgeous model.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.84
ETH 3310.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92