Yesterday's A Blur

me.JPG

A self portrait from six years ago taken next to my bedroom window using very limited window light and nothing else. It was intended to be moody, out of focus and low key. I think I was trying to recreate a photography style, but I don't quite remember. The photo was shot with my Fuji X20. I miss that little thing.


One of the greatest gifts we have as human beings, is the ability to forget. Can you imagine if we never forgot anything? We would be unable to function. Our brain practices active forgetfulness, just to keep us sane.

We are bombarded by hundreds of thousands of stimuli every second, most of which our brains simply filter away and never record. The ones that make it through to our consciousness do so usually because they're new, significant, traumatising or pleasurable.

Our memories are mapped out by landmarks, sort of like milestones in a marathon. Everything else is either forgotten, repressed or even replaced by false memories.

I remember being 3 years old for instance. I don't remember my 3rd birthday or actively being aware of being 3, but I remember certain events that in hindsight I can calculate that I was three. I remember the birth of my sister whom I'm 4 years older than. I also remember the Christmas before the birth at which time I would have been 3. I have no idea now what happened in between.

I remember my first day in kindergarten - traumatic :)

Those are my earliest memories. I have others that may have been earlier, but I have no way of telling when the events occurred. For instance there was a time I broke our glass centre table. My sister wasn't in the picture then either. There's also a memory of being lifted up by my mother and sang to. That must have been really early. I might even have been a toddler. Who knows.

The photo above was much more recent - taken just six years ago. Yet, the only thing I remember about that day is taking this photo, and several other much better ones. Actually this is technically the worst one I took. The others are much sharper and in focus. This one was my favourite because I remember I was trying to get that slightly out of focus look.

Of the rest of the day, I remember nothing. It's all a blur.



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

I always admired people who remember things from their early days... my earliest memories are the ones when I screwed something up... run away from kindergarden; fell into a frozen river, and all the things related to "high adrenaline " :D Basically, can't remember anything at all (didn't intend to, but... Higgs boson bluueees) up until 2nd or 3rd grade in elementary school... however nowadays, I think I keep track of every shit I pay attention to for a year back. :)

Hahaha . Higgs Boson 😭😭that god particle :)
Yeah I think kindergarten will be up there as most people's earliest memories. Being separated from your parents (mother especially) is extremely traumatic.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You look like you are about to drop the next hottest techno album

Posted using Partiko Android

Management called and said this is the final artwork

Oh I love it. Ready to go platinum on Pirate Bay.

You're looking quite handsome here. As for your memories from being three, I will say you were lucky. I can't remember a jack about being three, yet I can remember several things from five and onwards.

Our memories are mapped out by landmarks, sort of like milestones in a marathon. Everything else is either forgotten, repressed or even replaced by false memories.

The truth in the above statements shouldn't be taken for granted. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you sir. hahah. I'm glad they memories are happy ones at least. Except maybe the kindergarten one :)

@adetorrent what an inspirational photography you have done keep it up📸

Thank you for the kind comment :)

remember stuffs when you're that young is scary adeeee. I remember hating my younger sister so much and didn't talk to her for 20 years because shy always copy what I did when we were young.

I'm a vampire as you already know mo. I remember everything mhahahaha.

Not even kidding

Wow 3 years old. Very impressive. I'm thinking more towards early 4 for me and memories. And that's one striking guy in that photo ;)

LOL thanks. It's all gone to crap in the last 6 years though :)

Love this shot. I should get my self-portrait game ON...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86