Portrait Photography - Raven and Baby


I absolutely adore this photograph of my wonderful always-unschooled Raven, aged almost 14, with BFF Baby the Mille Fleur Frizzle Bantam making like the World's cutest, silliest, most improbable Barbour hat accessory!

It was taken on a rare day of brilliant Spring sunshine and you can see that they are both revelling in it. I love these two so, so much. Just looking at this image makes me feel warm inside, even though it's SO cold that I'm sitting here in a down jacket indoors right now!raven-baby.jpg


'Raven and Baby' by Jay Taylor

This shot was taken on my Olympus OMD-EM1, using a Panasonic Lumix G Vario 45-200mm lens which I love for portrait work like this. The image was taken in RAW format and then developed by hand in Adobe Lightroom. I have resisted applying filters or effects of any kind to it or editing out imperfections in any way because I just love the realness of the capture. I feel really privileged and blessed to have been given permission by Raven to share this spontaneous, loving moment with all of you.

I hope that in sharing this image of two species interacting with love, trust and innocent wonder, I can bring a little joy and laughter to your Steemit world today; and maybe even a little sense of how wonderful chickens can be as non-human companions. We certainly derive a huge amount of pleasure from their company, and as I hope you can see from this image, the feeling is clearly mutual <3

Good luck to all the entrants in this week's Portrait contest - fingers crossed for my two BFFs!

With love,

Jay x

baby-jay.jpg

CategoryPortrait Photography
Settings61mm - ISO 200 - f8.0 - 1/500 sec
CameraOlympus OMD-EM1, Panasonic Lumix Vario G 45-200mm Lens
LocationOur Chicken Field, Peak District National Park, Derbyshire, England, UK

Take a challenge a day with @juliank:

Monday: #foodphotography and #animalphotography
Tuesday: landscapephotography and cityscapephotography
Wednesday: #architecturalphotography and #vehiclephotography
Thursday: #macrophotography and #colourfulphotography
Friday: #streetphotography and #portraitphotography
Saturday: #sportsphotography and #smartphonephotography
Sunday: #goldenhourphotography and #longexposurephotography

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography

You have earned 5.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.09
Server time: 20:45:13
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 54.50/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 17
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you <3

Hello jaytaylor! Great post. Your image really make me laugh. Is a very nice portrait and for a moment i didn't realize that it was a chicken in your daughter's head. I though it was some kind of hat hehe. The chicken looks so peaceful that it makes me feel that same emotion when i look at the image. When i was a kid and went to my grandparents house, i use to take care of many of the chickens that they had. It was always fun, specially when they lay eggs and then hatch. Good shot. At F8.0 you are still getting a nice blur in the background. Will be happy to see more of your photography. Upvoted & Followed!

Hello algenisfig! I'm really glad that my photo made you laugh - I hoped that it would have that effect! Baby really was very happy and at ease up there, as you can see. She is such a sweetheart <3 Chickens are amazing birds - as is my Raven ;o) I'll Follow you back! Thank you x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68